A Little Glimpse of My Busy City, Nairobi Kenya + What They Don't Tell You About Africa..

in #art5 years ago

Documenting my country has become an integral part of my Steem Journey to be honest. There's a sense of patriotism, pride and gratitude that comes with being proud of where you come from. It's also a big influence in how one chooses to portray their home. After all, East or West, Home is best right?

I have a feeling most people only get to hear of the hard, messy instances when it comes to African countries. Sometimes when people mention Africa, most people tend to think of poverty, war and diseases. But that is far from the truth. The thing is, they don't show you the best part of our continent. Like how great the weather is out here, or how hard working people are out here.

Like it's clearly demonstrated on this photos I took while at the city center last weekend. People break sweat to get bread on the table, literally.

It's really all about misconceptions.

One of the most annoying thing about the fast world on an honest note, is how majority of the people tend to think Africa is a country. That is always a deal breaker for me. Like C'mon! C'MON!

I don't mean to digress, but my thoughts are all over, it happens when I get overwhelmed on a topic I feel deeply about. Like I was saying, there's more than meets the eye. Sure, we have the bad and ugly in Kenya, but we also have the good and the great parts of it.

If you didn't know by now, I love to people observe, and photography is a big part of that hobby, clearly.

Need I mention again how awesome our public transportation buses are? They are mostly hella pimped out with graffiti, killa club banging kind of music, tv screens and cctv cams. It's just one of those experiences you can't miss when in Nairobi.

Not some of the best captures I've done, understandably, I was in a moving bus when I took the photos. Hopefully soon I can do a better job. Here's one more.

How exciting is public transportation in your country? This is something we go hard on. We actually call this **Matatu Culture** Matatu is Swahili for Bus.

What is that one thing that makes you very proud of where you're from?

Thank you for stopping By. If you enjoy my photography content you can check out more on my personal blog, be sure to follow for instant access. See you tomorrow?

Lifecatalogs.Com

XOXO



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.lifecatalogs.com/a-little-glimpse-of-my-busy-city-nairobi-kenya-what-they-dont-tell-you-about-africa/
Sort:  

I still think the bus paint jobs are just awesome, and some of the if not the most colorful buses in the world. And they are clean, pride of company or ownership certainly show through.

Oh but why are there buses, just look at any CNN news story and all the roads in Africa are mud and dirt and everything is dirty, there are no modern building, people or any kind of infrastructure at all in any "State of Africa" (yes that was sarcasm).

Nice post @elsiekjay and keep showing the world what your backyard is really all about.

Hahaha! Nearly got me there.

I just feel like the guys at CNN don't prefer world peace, or is it that they are always looking for views? At the expense of world peace? I am pretty sure mother nature will be tired of them some day, hopefully ye?

You'd be shocked if you were to drop in Kenya for a day or 3, we nearly have everything you could think of. Things are getting better with time for sure.

Thanks for stopping by and for always being supportive.

XO.

Pictures of real life - I like them!

Maybe I will visit you someday and have a tea and a chat. I really like to see a country trough the eyes of a citizen :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Those are cool busses :)

Asian countries also have the same issues, so I get your frustrations :D

I recently watched a TED Talk which I found very interesting. Here it is :)
https://www.ted.com/talks/chimamanda_adichie_the_danger_of_a_single_story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78