The Impression Series by @lulumeng

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I recently went to an art exhibition opening of @lulumeng, and wanted to share her work as I think it is very cool. She has been pretty busy keeping up with life and setting up exhibitions for her cool stuff, but I'd like to encourage her to come back. I'm also hoping that perhaps others who are interested in her work might encourage her to hop back in and share more of her stuff here on Steemit as well.

All liquid payouts will go to her.

I've written a post once before with her art from the same series here, which you can also take a look.

The photos I've taken are from her latest showing at this exhibition. A bunch of us went to visit on opening night, and it was quite crowded.

IMG_20180602_201729.jpg

There are three hanging pieces, each with its own name:

  • Chess : 16 = 十六
  • Timestable : 16, 18, 21, 30 then 40
  • The cricked spine: Vertebrate

The name is clearer when you see both sides of each hanging piece.

IMG_20180602_201705.jpg

The other side is flat but engraved with what I'm assuming is an impression of the artist's identity. In the last picture you can make out a multiplication table as you zoom in. From the title of work, it does look like only a few of them are filled out, and I'm guessing at certain age milestones.

IMG_20180602_201623.jpg

The other side of Timestable. It's so fun to see the details of the shirt, and the wrinkles...

MVIMG_20180602_201836.jpg

Here I got a close-up of one of the buttons. Those look so real... I didn't touch it to check though (and probably that would be frowned upon). I will ask by the end of this post.

IMG_20180602_200539.jpg

This is from the one in the corner. Most likely you'll recognize the chess pieces in the top half. The bottom half are also chess pieces, but from Chinese chess. These pieces are mostly resin, and the flat side is carved with a drill bit. She mentioned that it was rather difficult to make straight lines and circles. Impressive.

I can only assume this is about a clash between American and Taiwanese identity. I find it interesting that half the pieces live in the spaces while the other half live on the interesting lines. Maybe they aren't in conflict after all. The title of the piece mentions some sort of equality as well, so maybe that matches.

IMG_20180602_200609.jpg

And this is the other side of Chess.

MVIMG_20180602_200626~2.jpg

This one is Vertebrate. I really like the shapes of this one. Embedded within is a fuzzy impression of the American flag, male and female symbols, Brooklyn, the Chinese character for dog, and the Chinese character of her surname, Meng.

IMG_9608.JPG

And here's @lulumeng alongside her Impression series art pieces.

I did ask more about the artwork, and it turns out that the buttons are real, and it is different than her previous work. This is what she says about it:

I hardened and used real clothes as a container to pull resin in. The features of the front side are erased, as if we are anonymous in a society at large. Symbols and carving on the flat side are collective experience. Some from my own stories some from other friends or people I encountered. Experience and stories were combined to create a fictional character. It’s like who we are now is shaped by collective effort of the surrounding people and environment.

What a very interesting concept. Come to think of it, the Timestable is a universal experience shared by almost all humans growing up. My favorite of the three pieces is the one with the chess pieces. Growing up I did learn and play both (but not well), and seeing them side by side in this arrangement really brings together many memories.

If by some chance you are in New York City in that particular area you can also take a peek in person. The exhibition runs for about 4 weeks.

Also check out her website at http://www.lulumeng.art/ and her Instagram.

Sort:  

Incredible works of art. I love her interpretation: the fictional characters we create (of ourselves) as we go along, shaped by others and our environment. Wow!

The pieces remind me of washing that's been left hanging outside when it's too cold.

Thanks for sharing these :)

SIGNATURE.png

The wrinkles? Haha.. I think there's something to that theory... Yeah her explanations of the work are pretty philosophical. To be expected of art I suppose.

Those are some awesome images and art that you shared about your artist friend.

I like in particular the chess piece and your commentary about it.

Thanks! Glad you like it

this is very different and very interesting. I really like what she has done here and it speaks volumes. Thank you for sharing

Agreed there, very interesting

It would be awesome if I am New York to visit this. It does seem like an interesting exhibition of your friend's art no doubt.

I am happy you will donating all the proceedings of this post to her to support her and happy to see Curie has supported this awesome post as well. :)

Yes I'm very happy for their support as well! I hope that translates to connecting other artists together!

Very interesting. This is some really cool artwork. Also awesome of you to highlight what @lulumeng is doing. Thanks for sharing this great post!

Thanks for stopping by!

Aw! Awesome pieces Eon! I like the wrinkled shirt because as you say they look so real up close! I do hope @lulumeng would come back and share her works of art here. :)

Yeah and then I found out that there is a real shirt inside :)

Really? hahahha that's even cooler!

These are beautiful!!!! thank you for sharing these on your behalf of your friend!!! :) enjoyed you in TOTL today! :)

Was a fun experience sharing. I think I lost a lot of words on the spot hahaha. But yeah I hope I can drum up interest!

the most xtrange exhibition that i see until today here for Central Amérca, an exibition of tshit it is glorious.
i never imaginated that it could be exist, by the way were very beautiful, specially the chess game.
A huge.

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Done. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10