Rain for the Homestead

in #art6 years ago

Whenever we have a thunderstorm watch, our weather radio always warns us. The only time my dad turns on the TV is for the weather.

He also goes online and checks the radar.

Lightning and Thunder

My mom and dad said that light travels faster than sound. So when I see a lightning strike, I should hear the sound next. So if you hear thunder after 5 seconds, that means the lightning is a mile away.

BOOM!
kuya-art04.JPG

Powerful Shock

I got shocked by our electric fence for the chickens. I wasn't paying attention and touched it with my leg. My mom got shocked too and also my dad. Phew! If I really think about it, it didn't really hurt bad. It just SHOCKS you!

Can you imagine a lightning shock? THAT is going to hurt bad. We saw a video on YT about a guy who got struck by lightning and still lived. But there are news of people getting struck by lightning and died. Oh and lightning can burn your house down!

So when a thunderstorm is coming, we go inside the house. When we're outside working and it rains, we would like to play in the rain. But we have to go in because of the lightning.

My Art

My drawing shows you the dark clouds and since you can't see sound, I had to write BOOM for the thunder. The blue dots show you the rain drops. And of course, there should be a tree beside a house. That thingy beside the house is a rain gauge.

I forgot to put a garden in. In homesteading, rain is a good thing. Specially this summer, a rain or two would be great. We don't have our well running yet so we might have to spend a lot on water bill.

Too much rain though is really not good. Maybe I should put a pond in my drawing to collect rain water.

Sort:  

That was a very informative post. I love your drawing. I like that much better than a picture from the internet!

My favorite thing about the rain is the way it sounds. When I water the garden, I like to spray straight up in the air for a few seconds and make it rain. My dog loves it! So she follows me around while I'm watering and whimpers till I do it! 🐶😄☔

Hah! I do quite the same, but was a bit shy to confess it before you said it first here)) Thank you for sharing your feelings. Sometimes if sprinkle the water in air very good you can even see the rainbow))

Hahaha that was really funny, especially that part explaining your drawing. Yes lightning is very dangerous, I remember in Florida there were like hundreds of lightnings almost every day. I know that thunder is dangerous, but there is something that appeals to me very much in the it, I love to stay under our big metal shed and watch the thunder. To Feel the freshness of the air and to hear those raindrops knocking hard our shed wind blowing hard, Wow! Unfortunately I haven't seen a good thunder for more than two years already, so if you see one say hello to it from me))) Tell her to get away, tell her that @johnstone is sitting and waiting for her in different place!))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77