Art Feature: Merida of Brave (Art Process)

in #art6 years ago
For movie enthusiasts, it has been all over facebook and other social media platforms about The Wreck it Ralph moviel sequel.

What excites most of the fans is that the movie would not only feature the internet but the Disney Princesses as well, as the disney website was also introduced in the movie's trailer.

I, for one, is just so excited seeing my favorite Disney Princesses in the screen particularly Merida from Brave. I said to myself, oh well since I am not that busy why don't I make a fan art of her! And so I did.

Why don't you join me guys on this simple art tutorial? Shall we start now?

20180607_154057.jpg
Materials used:
(1) Vellum Board
(2) Simbalion Watercolor Cake

Process
20180607_151558.jpg
I used vellum board for this one instead of watercolor paper since I could not find mine. You can opt for bond paper but make sure your brush is not that wet as it may ruin the paper or damage it with water.

I first started by sketching her face. The source of the image is the one that I downloaded over facebook. To be clear, I used it as my basis.

I made a round shape for the face and tried to copy the original photo, which I accidentally deleted after painting by the way. It was then followed by a rectangle shape below which would serve as the neck.

If you are trying to make a watercolor artwork, make sure you do not make hard lines so that it would be easy for you to erase all the corrections or the unnecessary lines.

20180607_151824.jpg
After copying the shape of the face, I divided the face into specific proportions so that it would not look a bit off. Since it is not a realistice type of art, the nose is situated a little bit near to the nose. And her nose,in contrast with the movie brave is a bit cartoonish same with her eyes and lips.

In making an animated subject, just like this one, I made sure that the eyes are somewhat similad but since the portion of the left face is near the audience, I made sure that its width is a little bigger than the right portion of the face.

20180607_152438.jpg
As soon as I was done with sketching her face, I decided to start painting using my watercolor cake. I prefer this one over prang because its color seems brighter and it has a cakey texture.

I decided that the outline of her eyes is not entirely black because it would give a different impression, but instead lighter shades of brown to give a feel that she is an adorable character.

Her eyes then are blue just like in the main movie but a little bit brighter as well.

20180607_152606.jpg

It was followed then with coloring the face, but starting with the outline first.

20180607_152904.jpg

20180607_153511.jpg

And then the entire face. I used light tones of flesh for her face and then light red for her freckles.

20180607_154057.jpg

Different shadea of red then had been used for the hair. For me, it need not to be perfect since I love applying impressionism most on my works.

You can opt for a bit realistic if you want to. And oh! Do not forget to include your signature. And now, we are through!

It is really indeed amazing to create something like this within 10 to 15 minutes. It is a way not just to master my painting skills but to try adopting new watercolor techniques as well. I seriously could not wait for the tine when I could read all art posts here on steemit the moment we have a more stable internet connection.

Ciao! I hope you enjoyed today's short art process. Have a great day tomorrow.

Love,
Johanna Gail


@gailbelga or Johanna Gail is a free-spirited freelance artist. She took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in one of the Ateneo universities in the Philippines. She is currently a candidate for Masters in Public Administrations. She volunteers in various non-profit/nongovernmental organization which aims for human rights through political education. She draws and writes about the country to provide awareness and promote the Philippines to foreign tourists.
Sort:  

I know it is not easy to use watercolor.... Well, I dont even know how to draw... I'm impressed with people who post their art work in the platform especially when theyre showing the process like this one... makes me feel that I can also do the same even I knew from my self that I cant... lol

Hahaha. Youre funny. By the way, thank you. Have a great day ahead!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77