Gail Arts: Little Girl Massie

in #art6 years ago
Massie, is a portrait of a three year old Brit who lives in Grrat Britain. The said owner of this portrait is a fun loving little girl.

I had been checking out some of my works lately because my mom used to show some of them to our family friends when our churchmates visited our house last Sunday afternoon. Anyhow, two of my artworks, including my favorite one ,which won one of the art contests here on steemit found its new home. Yehey!

Upon going over all my portfolios, I found an unfinished artwork of mine way back 2015. It was a portrait of the niece of my crush before who lives at the other side of the world.

I laughed at myself when I realized how lazy I had been as an artist. A part of being lazy was due to the fact that I used colored pencils. It is actually my least favorite art medium because it consumes a lot of time before I could finish one.

I then decided to finish it, like, Yehey! After three years, I will be able to finish you. I will look for you, I will color you. And I will finish you in Liam Neeson's voice. Here is how it looked like before revamping it.

Since it is a portrait of a three year old child, who I think is six years old now, I wanted to make the portrait look colorful using only one medium which is colored pencils.

I made some of the portrait's feature refined using a black colored pencil. By the way, I used Colleen colored pencils for this one because they have vibrant colors. The colors are also more pigmented than the other brands.

As you can see, I also started adding different shades of beige and brown on her face to put emphasis on the vibrancy of a child.

I added color on her hair using darker shades of yellow and a lighter tone of orange. I also put color on the background which is a complete royal blue and sky blue.

I was still fully aware that Massie was wearing a scarf at the moment her portrait was taken soI made sure to add a bit of dimension on her scarf to add an effect. I used this olive green as a shadow and cornees and then light green mixed with olive green for the center portion of the scarf. I also added color to her jacket which is a shade of blue + red = violet.


Plus lemony and neon yellow for her inner shirt. And viola! The portrait of Massie is now finished!

Anyway, my phone is seriously running out of battery and there is still no current since four in the morning. The battery is seriously is at 8% already.

As some of you have already known, I had been using mobile data to surf the internet. Suck right? Our internet provider has been more like of a crap now.

Anyway, I am going back to sleep now. Take care you guys!


Anyhow, check out the recent post made by project-eleven! We will be conducting a chess tournament. Stay tuned for future activities!

@gailbelga or Johanna Gail is a free-spirited freelance artist. She took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in one of the Ateneo universities in the Philippines. She is currently a candidate for Masters in Public Administrations. She volunteers in various non-profit/nongovernmental organization which aims for human rights through political education. She draws and writes about the country to provide awareness and promote the Philippines to foreign tourists.
Sort:  

kahit nung hindi p sya tapos ang ganda ganda na nya! galing mo sis ❤

Oh thank you dear anj 😘

Your artworks are really great. You really have a talented hand.

Thanks a lot Kat. Will work harder pa =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97