Gail Arts: My Beloved Mulan (Watercolor Art)

in #art6 years ago
My siblings and I were still little when we watched Mulan on a cinema house together with our parents. Although I was little at that time, I had somewhat been empowered after watching the film. I felt the sense of doing something not just for myself but for the people that surrounds me.

Because I had been so amazed at her, even until now, I read different versions of her story. One writer shared that Mulan and her father had talked about her covering her identity to join the military. On the other hand, it was shared that she had been killed after being found out that she was a woman.

Whatever really happened to her, she has served as my role model aside that I look up on her as China's hero. I also have the same acknowledgment to the women who concealed their identity to fight during the Civil War in the United States of America. And of course, I would never forget the Filipinas who fought hard to defend their fellow countrymen against the Spaniards, Americans, and Japanese who lambasted the country.

Well, too much talking and history sharing! Allow me to show to you the process on a quick painting of Mulan. To parents out there, you can share this process to your children. It is really easy to follow.

20180614_014749.jpg

Materials used:
2H Pencil for sketching (not in the photo)
Simbalion Watercolor
Watercolor Brushes
Watercolor Paper

The source material for this easy artwork or art project was Mulan on Wreck It Ralph 2.

20180615_010723.jpg

Unlike other artists who sketch/ draw first the eyes of the character they are going to make, I started of with the head of Mulan. Since she was facing on a certain direction, I made a perfect circle at first then made a mango-shaped face facing on the left. Make sure you are using a lead pencil with a lighter shade so that it would be easy for you to make erasures.

20180615_010745.jpg

The moment I was done with the face shape, I sketched her neck and her hair. Please mind that as an artist, I am not a master copy so you might find my work a little bit different from the original one.

20180615_010806.jpg

And then I proceeded to sketching her face details such as the eyes, lips, and nose. Take notw that Mulan has a fine face shape, a little bit long but small nose, and her eyes are a bit smaller compared to other Disney Princesses.

20180615_010824.jpg

Since I am using a watercolor cake, I could not replicate the same colors of the original one/source.

20180615_010932.jpg

20180614_013506.jpg

20180615_010907.jpg

20180615_010846.jpg

In watercolor art, you just need to play a little bit and enjoy adding colors on every portion/space. Also, avoid using dark colors first as it may contaminate other regions on your work.

I hope you had a great time reading or viewing this blog entry of mine. And oh by the way, please do not forget to click the upvote button if you enjoyed this. You can also resteem this post.

If you haven’t voted for your witness, vote @surpassinggoogle/@steemgigs now so that a lot of communities would be catered!

Thank you for reading!

Lots of love,
Johanna Gail


@gailbelga or Johanna Gail is a free-spirited freelance artist. She took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in one of the Ateneo universities in the Philippines. She is currently a candidate for Masters in Public Administrations. She volunteers in various non-profit/nongovernmental organization which aims for human rights through political education. She draws and writes about the country to provide awareness and promote the Philippines to foreign tourists.
Sort:  

Magaling nga Ma'am Gail. Where did you learn how to draw? My drawing skills are nowhere near yours. I also want to learn how to draw just like you.

I learned when I was three. I first knew how to use a watercolor brush. Just keep practicing with me! We can make it!

I see. Mukha kasing mahirap. I always doodle on my spare pages in my notebook but I am not improving on my drawings.

maganda gail.. at ang galing mo talaga gumuhit..

Hello kuya rogel, thank you ng marami. 😊

I didnt know you draw too and interested in artwork too. And plus a fan of Mulan.. you are a gem :)

Im actually art blogger. Thanks @nahus!

ang galing ng pagkagawa mo. ;) God bless!

Salamat jray :)

Fantastic. I like un art

wooow...its really really close, recognized mulan asap!
Muchuuu was always one of my Childhoodheros :))

Mushu is really a funny dragon. Thanks for recognizing it asap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85