Gail Arts: Portrait for Ate Carms

in #art6 years ago (edited)

april_2018-05-14-00-49-03-900.jpg

Hello everyone especially to all the mothers out there. The mother's day celebration is really created for you to relax for a moment while the fathers and kids are doing all the household chores. Is that what it is supposed to be?

Anyhow, mommies, did you enjoy yesterday's Mother's day celebration with your kids? I bet you did!

And kids, what were the surprises that you made for your moms? Well, I surprised my mom by telling her that I haven't prepared anything for her at all. She just laughed at it then.

To all the mothers out there, we would sincerely like to thank you for all the sacrifices you have made and we do not have any idea on how to repay you. You served as an inspiration to our lives.

To all the mothers who cannot be with their children because they are working overseas, being far from your children does not make you less of a mother. You have deprived yourselves of comfort just to provide the needs and wants of your families.


Art Process

Anyway, for this moment, I would like to share a quick art process that I made for a friend who is soon to be a mom. She is Ate Carms and we met like few years ago at graduate school.

I really do like her a lot because she is just so cool. She is a licensed nurse but is currently working as a police officer. She will soom become a mom and we are all excited for her.

Anyway, let us get started, shall we?

20180513_225519.jpg

Using a brown cartolina, I started sketching Ate Carm's portrait. I used 2H lead pencil because it can easily be erased when a mistake is committed.

I actually do not have a copy that is why I just tried to recall how she looks like.

20180514_003945.jpg
I then color for her hair. I used the black colored pencil and then added some accent to it using the color white.

When I was done on the one side of the hair, I added undertones for the skin. I used the colors yellow green, yellow, and pink since applying flesh or variety of flesh does not add depth on the portrait.

20180513_231559.jpg

20180514_003925.jpg

20180514_003856.jpg

To add highlight on her face, I used color white particularly the chin, near the eyes, nose, and forehead. Since the right side of the face is against the light, I tried to use darker tones on that portion of the face.

Since Ate Carms eyes is bright and I wanted to give a dainty look, I made her pupils bigger but the opening of the eyes is a bit smaller.

20180513_234852.jpg

The moment I realized I was almost through, I decided to color the background with different tones of blue.

And since this has a quick-sketch-feel, I tried not to color all the areas of our drawing surface.

20180514_003808.jpg

And after an hour, my work is good to go. I do hope I could master my skills in colored pencils so that someday I could make a living out of it.

I hope you enjoyed my quick art process or quick art tutorial.

Happy mother's day again! Love you all!


@gailbelga or Johanna Gail is a free-spirited freelance artist. She took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in one of the Ateneo universities in the Philippines. She is currently a candidate for Masters in Public Administrations. She volunteers in various non-profit/nongovernmental organization which aims for human rights through political education. She draws and writes about the country to provide awareness and promote the Philippines to foreign tourists.
Sort:  

I am one of those people living overseas and away from my mother and we both suffer but no matter what you get in life, there is no replacement of warmth of home and love of mother. Happy mothers day to all the mothers around the globe :)

Happy mother's day to your mommy. 😚

Beautiful art ! Happy Mother's Day !

Happy mother's day too! 😘

you are on my feed so thank you for being active and a follower, you receive a comment and an upvote.

Beautiful artwork, you are really talented. Thank you for posting it.

Thanks a lot for your support. 😘

Congratulations @gailbelga, your post have been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.

You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

If you would like to delegate to Best of PH you can do so by clicking on the following links.

100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Wait, I do not trust hyperlinks. Can you send me the full links? Thanks.

galing nman.. truly gifted ka talaga gail..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29