Second-Hand Reading - A video

in #art5 years ago

I awoke, [from dreams I cannot mention, those I wish to forget, and the sweeter to which I cling like the last vestiges of hope in a wretched situation], to undetermined hours; A Saturday more nebulous than distinct, deconstructed than elucidated - And yet the day was my own personal, malleable, collection of minutes and hours - To craft as my heart desired.

That was this morning and whilst languishing in bed on a cold rainy September seventh 2019 seemed quite legit my inquisitive mind hungered for more than a warm quilt, soft pillows and the purring of my cats snuggled around me...And so I bounced dragged myself out of bed, performed the customary morning-time routines and made my way into Adelaide - I'd determined, during my well-practiced morning stupor routine that a visit to the South Australian Art Gallery was in order. src

I'll not sum up the whole visit in this one post, just one small element that I enjoyed by an artist called William Kentridge, a distinctive voice in contemporary art who emerged during the apartheid regime in South Africa.

Kentridge's works draw parallels between art and ideology, history and memory with a firm grounding in the violent absurdity of that period of his country's history. Dealing with various political subjects his style is not instructional, didactic, rather he emphasises the contradiction and ambiguity that is embedded in our relationship with history; It's uncertainty. For me, a lover of history, this is challenging however interesting as history is certainly contradictory and ambiguous in some areas - Any historian, must, agree to this, even if somewhat reluctantly.

Through humour, self-depreciating humour, he reveals his lack of conviction about the artist's role as arbiter, author, of meaning - even in respect of their own work.

The exhibition was curated by the man himself and is entitled That which we do not remember which could be read as an illusion to the figurative character of many of his works - Drawings erased, redone, or the fleeting imagery of film fragments.

Its to a short film I come to now. The video is not complete, just a few minutes taken and spliced together by me. There is complete versions to be found in YouTube I believe.

The film combines hundreds of drawings by Kentridge upon pages of the Oxford English Dictionary. The images dance across the page playfully contradicting the rational system of classification the dictionary represents.

William Kentridge says, This film is in a technical dialogue, with my long-term exploration of the history of film and animation...Appears to be a filmed version of a flip book with pages being rapidly flipped to reveal images of a man in perpetual, agitated movement, loping, pacing and running. The figure remains trapped within the margins of each page...Not technically a flip book but made through projecting drawings of a pacing figure on to filmed pages of a book being turned rather than than figures actually being drawn on these pages. - [Paraphrased] - William Kentridge.

The film is available in book form which would be nice I think but there was something comforting an insightful to see it on film, in the dark, and accompanied by the music and voice.

My father was an accomplished, and published, artist but I gained none of his artistic skills in the form of visual arts. Music was my thing. Because of that failing the visual arts are not something I spend a lot of time with, nor am I an educated art critique or appreciator. To me what looks good is good, and whilst it may technically not be it doesn't matter. My perception is my reality. This book/film is good though, at least I thought so and is worth a look in person if you get the chance.

More tales from the South Australian Art Gallery to come in time. I hope you enjoyed this video.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺
@curangel curator

Sort:  

I find it interesting that even if you didn't inherit his artistic skills you still iherited his passion for art.

My father was an accomplished, and published, artist but I gained none of his artistic skills in the form of visual arts. Music was my thing.

Yes, I was brought up around art, it was a big part of our lives as kids, my siblings and I, so I have an appreciation. I find it interesting and many aspects of it fascinating. I have a good eye for it I guess, meaning I know what I like and don't like.

My trip to the Art Gallery of South Australia today was valuable and enjoyable.

Thanks for stopping by, engagement makes my enjoyment of steem much deeper so thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

I totally agree!

engagement makes my enjoyment of steem much deeper so thank you.

Sadly there isn't much engagement in my niche part of Steem.

I took a look at your blog. For me there's too much gaming stuff as I'm not a gamer and don't get it. A good way to get engagement is to comment on other users though, as you did with me. The steem environment is changing and many will have to change their ways a little. Try engaging with others, valid and interesting comments on their posts and you may find a little reciprocal engagement.

I'll take another look at your blog and see what I see. I curate for @curangel so am always looking for interesting and well-written content.

Edit: You seem to get a little reward on your posts but yes, few engage. Try the above and see if it makes a difference. All the best.

Before I didn't have time for that, but now I do so I'll be engaging with people much more from now on.

Try engaging with others, valid and interesting comments on their posts and you may find a little reciprocal engagement.

Thanks for the advice!

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8750 replies. Your next target is to reach 9000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I can't say when the last time was that I had a day to craft as my heart desires. Slow walks through echoing art gallery hallways must be high on the priority list for those sort of days, despite purring cats and warm quilts. This looks like a fun exhibit to view by yourself. Or maybe it is always best to do that sort of thing by yourself.

It was a nice day...And yes, best spent in solitude I think.

I watched that film a couple of times, it was set up in the dark, and it made me feel detached from the world, a state I welcomed. I will probably go back again.

Wandering the quite halls surrounded with artworks off all kinds, some great, some terrible to my eye, old, new, eclectic...It was a nice if disturbing at times. There was an exhibit there that I am still processing. I took many pictures. It was...Disturbing and confronting yet I couldn't pull my eyes away. I'll blog about it when I can make sense of it in my head. You'll see what I mean when you see the pictures.

Thanks for commenting Gin, much appreciated. You know...Add some tonic, ice, some lime and you'd make a pretty good drink. 👌😂✅

To be happy detached you have to be calm and confident. How nice. I am too anxious of a person to do detachment gracefully :) I'm sure it was excellent to watch in that environment.

Never had gin. I should, do myself the honor. I have had a lot of my full name though.

I don't drink much but don't mind a gin and tonic here and there. Ah yes, I've had a lot of your first name too. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.666 which ranks you at #1727 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 106 contributions, your post is ranked at #41.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76