Slipstream Sculpture at Heathrow

in #art6 years ago


Sculpture in Terminal 2


After an 8 hour journey I am finally home from my 10 day break in Devon and Cornwall.

I travelled back by coach from Bideford to Heathrow Airport where John met me and drove me home. Getting picked up at the airport saved me having to travel into London and out again.

On the way from the Coach Station to the Car Park I couldn't resist the temptation to take a few photographs, especially as the Coach Station is at Terminal 2 where Richard Wilson's 2014 sculpture Slipstream is situated.

Heathrow Slipstream.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

The sculpture is over 70 metres (230 ft) long and weighs 77 tonnes.

Heathrow Slipstream 2.jpg

I snapped this photograph of the sign just to remind myself what the sculpture was called but, when I got home I noticed the diagram which shows the slipstream it is based on, so thought I'd post it. Apologies I didn't get the whole sign.

Heathrow Slipstream Info.jpg



Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for this daily photography contest.

Sort:  

Very interesting sculpture. Big installments done well are awesome. My small city has been doing some outdoor sculptures that mostly leave people scratching their head or mildly annoyed :(

It always amuses me, the amount of controversy that surrounds these types of things, @steven-patrick.

On the whole I usually like them, although I do have some scratching my head moments too

Very large art object. Such monumental sculptures are really very good to see on large spaces. Seeing that, I would also not be able to resist the temptation to take his photo.

Yep. According to Wikipedia "It is currently the longest piece of permanent art and the largest privately funded sculpture in Europe." @madlenfox

I think it depends on what angle you are viewing it from as to whether you like it or not though. It looks very different depending upon where you are standing. 😊

@gillianpearce, This is what makes it more amazing and unique.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-16T19:20:03
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2093.09/3200.00
Total Photos: 255
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I am continually amazed at what artists, especially sculptors or designers of large pieces of art, like this one, will use for inspiration. Putting together something like this suggests at least a liking of scientific things, or in this case, aeronautical phenomena. I don't think I would attempt something so huge. That's a massive amount of material to create such a thing, and then transportation and the support structure—it's quite the undertaking, and I don't even want to guess at the millions it cost to do all that.

I have no idea of the cost @glenalbrethsen. I'm sure it said somewhere when I was researching it a bit but I didn't pay any attention.

I'm not sure If i like it or not. I think it really depends on the angle you're viewing it from. I quite like the tail and all the rivets. And the view whilst travelling up the escalator was good at times. In fact I think that was the view I liked best but, my phone, was shut away in my case so I didn't take that shot. And then I couldn't be bothered to travel back down and up again. 😁

That's the said thing about experiences like that. The best shots aren't always convenient or possible.

There's a point on the highway as you're traveling west on the I-84 where you have the Columbia River winding away in the foreground and Mt. Hood rising up in the background. Everything is big as life at that moment, but the only way to get the photo is to be traveling in a car at 65 mph. And the view is in front of you, so it has to come through the windshield. I'm normally alone, so it's not the safest thing to try, and when my wife is with me, the weather conditions aren't always optimal, so I've yet to get that shot. There's not really any convenient place to stop and try to get a picture from the shoulder, either. It's very much a view meant to be experienced, but not recorded and thus shared. So, I just keep driving that stretch of road thinking that it would make an awesome picture if I could only get it.

If it were me making such a mammoth structure, I would want to create something that was interesting from all angles, so it didn't matter where you viewed it from. You wouldn't have to be a slipsteam aficionado to appreciate it. I know that's not so easy to do, but anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83