Massive centipede found in Krabi park

in #art5 years ago

Well you should be able to tell right away that the title is a bit misleading but I found it meaningful because if you follow my blog you are likely aware of the fact that I recently had a less-than-epic modern art experience in New York City.

I discovered this along the riverfront in Krabi, Thailand while walking the doggo this morning. Apparently there is some sort of art display that they partially put up while I was away visiting on the other side of the planet.

47381921_499695990553504_6915932657016635392_n.jpg

It is called "Thailand Biennale,' and i guess that means something. As far as I can tell it looks like French and has something to do with art festivals. I couldn't walk to look at the other exhibits because of a number of factors. The main one being that I didn't have a leash for the doggo and Krabi has a pretty bad stray dog problem. Seeing how how I would very much prefer that my princess not get mauled and ripped to pieces, I decided to just stay in this one place.

This piece, in my opinion (and i am not terribly cultured) is better than 90% if not all of what I saw in that fancy, hoity-toity museum in New York a few days ago. It is made almost entirely from Volkswagen Beetle parts and does a really good job of resembling a centipede.

There is probably some sort of artistic meaning about how the centipede is extremely common in Thailand but Volkswagen, especially the classic Beetle, is far from it. I can't say for sure, that would probably be a question for Khun Panya to answer. I don't really need an explanation and am not looking for higher meaning. I just think it looks cool.


I would imagine that they will likely come and take it away before too long because there is no chance the municipal grass-cutters are going to take the time to intricately cut between the various legs. Also, the machines they use to cut the grass have metallic blades on them and it would just wreck the hell out of the trunk lids, the bumpers, and most likely the blades on the strimmers.

47326472_280198229304798_3088784391581728768_n.jpg

This artistic initiative started about 5 years ago in Krabi as the local government sought a method of differentiating Krabi-town from the nearby beach areas. Prior to that the town was merely seen as an inexpensive alternative to staying at the beach but now there are a lot of people that actaually travel FROM the beach in order to look at the various artistic festivals they have from time-to-time.

I'm for it and the fact that it doesn't cost $18 to get in appeals to me even more. It doesn't cost anything at all and directly benefits the local economy and during the "kickoff" of the events the artists apparently are there as well in order to sell other pieces they might have available or simply to answer questions and get some exposure.

In the meantime, it was a real point of interest for my Shih-Tzu, who spent about 20 minutes sniffing it while i stood by enjoying my coffee.

That's a pretty good morning in my book. Well done Krabi!

Sort:  

Sometimes even I wonder why some really good spray paint artwork are considered vandalism while literally an empty frame is considered "invisible" modern art. Thanks for the share, it was really an interesting read.

glad you liked it pal! Yes, street art, when done well, is some of my favorite in the world. However, the horse-crap of people simply tagging with a giant pen is awful and ugly. I once owned a guesthouse and the motif of the entire place was street art. We had artists from all over the world contribute to our collection and in the end it was one of the hardest things for me to walk away from.

It must have been appreciated because the new owners repainted almost the entire establishment but did NOT paint over most of those pieces.

Just wow! If you still have pictures of the place and is not intrusive then please do share. Would love to see this guesthouse in all its glory. But, really what you did was ingenious and I understand it must have been difficult walking away from it.

Very interesting and illustrative about how common are the centipedes in Thailand, there are cities that use this type of methods to give a name to the pieces that they place in areas of the city to give that touch of originality and identification. It's good that you enjoyed the ride. God bless you

How nice to look at this kind of art, the artist had a very innovative initiative, this talent is very good

Wow! The centipede is looking awesome, and yes way better than that of the artifacts we saw in the not so new museum through your post! 😉
The thing that amazed me most that the whole thing is just made of using vw polo parts, I was going to ask you what by which this is made of but I found my ans at the last para.
Btw nice name of your pet, doggo! I like it. 😄

stay well and keep posting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Are you in discord @gooddream?

Posted using Partiko Android

Really cool piece of art, it's a shame it's going to be remove as you said. Maybe it could be relocated to another place without grass. What was the problem with the museums in NYC?

Congratulation my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83