Nobody Nose (art?) in Krabi

in #art5 years ago

I had forgotten to feature this in the past and was clearing up my old as crap phone to try to make it faster (it didn't work - the end is nigh!) and found these pictures of an installment that was made in the Krabi public park (called Thara Park) and when I look at it, i dunno, i guess it is art. To me it just seems like an unnecessary use of plastic.

45167892_321770778603645_7684092668917317632_n.jpg

Yep, that's it. A giant nose floating in a pond in the middle of a park. That's art folks!

This piece was made by MAYRHOFER-OHATA, an artistic duo that I think are a couple (i guess it doesn't matter) and they do art installations in many locations around the world primarily in Venice, Paris, and Tokyo. I sometimes wonder how it is that people can make money doing this and often question whether I am simply not cultured enough to "get it."

I find it is bit strange that a community like Krabi, who already has a relatively massive problem with plastic waste in the waterways would commission someone to make a giant nose out of a relatively large amount of plastic and then put it in a body of water.

I'm not gonna try to be all SJW about this because I hate those guys but perhaps, once again, I just don't get it.


According to the artists the meaning behind the piece is as follows

The myth-making object mainly addresses environmental issues, inviting the viewers to explore the artwork as a placeholder for reality. A nose sculpture keeps itself above the water. It is very simple but purified by contemplation, the winds of the heavens dance between heads and hearts. The project presents a nose imagined as a bridge between outside and inside, the edge where exchange happens, where something is breathing the breath of life. Even if one is deeply asleep or meditating at the highest level of the mind, one is always breathing. A living soul needs a mindful breath, there is a spirit who dwells in one’s soul: let it take you wherever it takes you.

Huh?

Sort:  

I will create a giant plastic ear. To earn extra money. Might be a faster way than posting useless comments. :)

it might be. but i listen to all the comments you make. good luck with the ear :P

Haha, okay, thank you!

the ferst photo is very nice
thankyou for sharing friend
resteemid
this is photos for my city ifran

I could not figure out initially what the heck this is. It this is art, it’s not a good one

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is so creepy tbh.

Dear @gooddream, without reading the publication, I imagined, in principle, a pink toad, hahaha. I think the art of that piece is in what they wanted to mean, not in the piece itself...but, that's subjective art. A hug for you.

I just could not relate the artwork to its description by its artist! Its crap! And that nose is not required at at!
I agree buddy!

When i saw the pic, it looks funny, but using so much of plastic is disguisting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, hope you are having a nice day!

We stopped by to invite you to participate in the "B&W Photography contest", "'Dream' -- 100 words free writing contest", and "Food Photography #2 contest", and win prizes worth 18 Steem!

Try 1Ramp Android or Web to easily participate in the contests or host your own.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13