How I paint comics - The Techno-Templar #36 (+details)

in #art6 years ago

An insight into the making of the 36th page from my watercolour sci-fi and surreal graphic-novel.

Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_crop_1.JPG

Previously: Devlok landed on Protogea IV and found in the vessel's hold, a module that his fidel nanomorph droid, Phtae, could merge with. Turning it into a demonic, rather fast, motor vehicule. Now he is heading straight to his destination, remembering the last says of Node 32 ...

Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36.JPG

Details
Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_crop_2.JPG

Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_crop_3.JPG

Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_crop_4.JPG

Devlok, the Techno-Templar is a project I started in the beginning of 2016 and that I finished in October 2017. 54 pages were made in total, with the story being divided between two books of each 54 pages, comprising other short stories and art from myself.

So, how did I do this page? It started with a pseudo-plan, from which that Story-board page is extracted.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_st.JPG

The process: Like I explained in previous posts, I water my paper then I attach it with kraft paper on a light wood board. When it is dry, it is well tensed. This is to avoid the paper (Arches 300g.) to warp. It seems I miss pictures of the penciling process, but it is all direct on paper. At this point, I already started the painting.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_process_1.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_process_2.jpg

There was no specific order to do the panels, so the process is difficult to show in this one. And when I look now, I don't see much method in it, seems I more did the city first, probably because it was the funniest panel to do. The only sure thing, is the last step, which consist in re-outlining the closer shapes and touch up with white and other details.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_process_3.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_process_4.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_process_5.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_process_6.jpg

This page and the previous one are finished, the next one is on its way.
Like in other pages, the onomatopeias were painted on a separate sheet, then inlayed in PS.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_page_36_process_7.jpg



Thank you for having read my post! You can find the previous pages by scrolling my profile down.

For more art, visit my official website http://www.haedre.com

If you want more info about the books, check out those flick through.

To acquire them, head on: http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

Committing to comics is a hardcore job, consider supporting me and my family by buying my art through http://haedre.com/shop

Or by donating cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thanks for the

Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Fantastic to see the process of how you create these illustrations.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Always a treat to see your posts, @haedre :D Love the progression of panels in your pages, and I really get a sense of approachment of the city and when the gates opened with that huge onomatopoeia sound effect, that was great! :D

Love your stuff, man~ Keep up the good work <3

cool as usual!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by haedre from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I always enjoy your drawings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69684.47
ETH 3531.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73