Painting after 20 years!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I remember the last time I did painting was in 7th grade! Since then, I have never really sat down with a canvas, brush and colours to create art.

Last 5 days I attended an intensive workshop on music, movement and art. I will admit that music was my main draw (pun not intended) there. But the other two had a surprising theraputic effect on me.

Every evening from 6pm to 7:30pm is when we had art class.
In the very first class, I told the teacher that I haven't painted in 20 years, and he was very patient about helping me.
The first painting we used only two colors - yellow (representing light/day/happiness) and aquamarine blue (representing darkness/night).
The teacher asked us to begin with the colour of our choice and fill 50% of the sheet and leaving 5-6% in it as white.
I chose blue and filled the middle portion.
Then he asked us to use the other colour and fill the rest while leaving 5-6% white and not touching the previous colour.
I used yellow around the blue and brought it in from the corners.
Then he asked us to merge the two (which would make green) by bringing in one towards the other.
I got the yellow towards the centre blue.
Now I didn't take and pics of the process, but take my word for it that by this time, my painting looked absolutely pathetic! 🙄

Then he asked us to find a shape in our painting and give it the form we wanted.

This is what mine looked like in the end.

image

It is not a masterpiece but it meant a lot to me to create something like this.
The meaning I give to this is "when there is darkness in my heart, music brings in the light" 😊✨


The next day we got 4 colours - aquamarine blue, yellow and red and orange (red and orange and fancy names which I don't remember).
This time we started with yellow and filled the entire paper. Then we were aksed to leave a circular space in the right half top and darken the rest with more yellow.

Then we brought in orange and red from the outside towards the circle in layers and each time, we left a lighter layer close to the circle.

And in the end, we got blue in from the edge. The result was something like this:

image

This is supposed to be a tunnel, and we were to create a path leading out of the tunnel. The path had to be stony but the view outside the tunnel could be anything.

Some of the others made some fantastic paintings.
My final version looks like this:

image

Again, nowhere close to what the others could achieve but I think I did a decent enough job. 😎


Day 3 we had 4 colors - aquamarine blue, cobalt blue, yellow and red.
We started off by painting the entire canvas with yellow. Then layered with cobalt blue.
Then we started layering with aquamarine blue from bottom to make it darker.
We left 50% on top light and darkened the lower 50% progressively.
A slight portion was left yellow just bove the dark portion. It was obvious now we were making a landscape.
We used the mix of yellow and blue to make the grass in the earth and used the red to bring in two trees up from the ground.

The result looks like this:

image

I was getting better at this :)


Last day we did drawing. We used 3 pencils - 2B,4B and 6B.
The teacher asked us to use 2B and make light strokes from top down and slanting - like rain.
Then we applied a little pressure to make it dark in the bottom 70% and to make 5-6 peaks starting from the 70% mark.

Then we used 4B to make a layer of peaks below the first one. And 6B to make the last peak at the bottom.

Then we darkened the right side of each peak to make the shadows.

The final version was different for everyone. Some looked like mountains, some like waves in the sea, some like rocks.

Mine looks like this:

image


I have to admit that I was apprehensive about the entire exercise in the beginning but after these 4 works of art (😄) I feel a kind of confidence and peace.

I would definitely be painting 🎨 often now 😎✨


♨️ STEEM ON ♨️


If you like my work, please UpVote, ReSteem and Follow me @hardikv


Apply to Join thealliance Family in the Admissions Office


Join the India United Discord Server!


Join the Blockchain Musician Discord Server for Indian Musicians and Artists

TBM-footer.gif

Sort:  

Art meditation. It is indeed very therapeutic. Thank you for sharing the experience and the pictures

You are right brother music and painting are something which brings peace to our mind and its good to see your paintings, they were awesome but according to you which is the best one...

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited Community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Wow Beautiful painting, thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75