Yarn Bombs: A Different Kind of Street Art

in #art6 years ago

While we were out yesterday searching for a brake shop that doesn't exist, I spotted this awesome yarn-covered stop sign pole near where we'd pulled over for a minute. Every now and then I will see one of these "yarn bombs" around town, and it always brightens my day. This unique form of street art is one you definitely do not see every day. Usually I don't get a chance to get photos, but I got lucky this time. Maybe one day I'll get lucky enough to see one of these masterpieces being created...
GOPR1413.JPG
Apparently there is a loosely knit group of "Yarn Bombers" around town.

____f2u_____space_divider_by_dat_lil_filly-d8jutke.gif

↓ Click below to see a quick clip of the yarn bomb I came across yesterday! ↓

lunar_phases_by_lacrimon-db5nzrx.png

GOPR1414.JPG

f2u_cloud_divider_by_clepsydree-daf3b66.png

More amazing yarn bombs:

These photos are not my own by definitely worth sharing for those who have not seen this done before.

767f5e27970fe1e667841044abaa78d3.jpg
Yarn bombed tree - I'm not sure how I feel about this concept but it does look nice || photo source

yarn_bomb_03.jpg
Paris, France || photo source

18aabace9afa8a9b0492e41c64f7af6a.jpg
A parking meter in Honolulu, Hawaii || photo source

Yarn-bombing-R2D2-in-in-Bellingham-Washington-USA-2.jpeg
Bellingham, Washington
Created by Sarah Rudder for International Yarn Bombing Day
|| photo source

YarnBombing7.jpg
Yarn Bombed Tank at Victorious Festival in Portsmouth, United Kingdom || photo source

Yarn Bombing the Trees 2013 014.jpg
Yarn bombed fences add a beautiful pop of color to any area || photo source

f2u_cloud_divider_by_clepsydree-daf3b66.png

I hope you enjoyed these fun creations as much as I did. Feel free to let me know in the comments below whether or not you've seen anything like this before in your own area.

Keep calm & carry yarn!

cacti_by_gunsweat-da56hqn.png

~ See my recent posts here, if you haven't already: ~

|| MY INTRODUCE YOURSELF POST || Steemit World Map || The Wheel of Fortune || Colorful Flags of Oregon Eclipse Gathering || Needlework Monday || Brand New Serger || Spiritual Significance of Growing Our Hair || Latest Work In Progress || Unboxing Organic Fabric || Meet Crypto ||

♡ Many thanks to you for joining me on my journey ♡

Thankful for each of your comments, re-steems, follows and up-votes, and for everyone who has inspired, encouraged, or given me tips along the way...I cannot thank you enough!

~ @hempress ~

HEMPRESS.gif

Sort:  

These are really aweeesome!!!

Just wait for someone to spray it with some paint xD

If it's Melbourne it is needed been cold lately!

It ia great to see this form of art, it's beautiful

The colors of the spiderwebs on that tree are amazingly brilliant. I would love to see something like that at the Electric Forest Festival.

Hiya. Thanks for sharing these pics. I've seen crochet bombs in my city too. They really cheer me up. My fav is the colourful spiderweb pattern on the tree.

SIGNATURE.png

Love the yarn bomb idea. Not as much as there used to be around here. The flowers are great and have to say I quite like the webs too on the tree. I have never got on with knitting ends up quite painful in all respects haha 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72