Calm | Oil Painting

in #art4 years ago (edited)

DSC_1006.jpg


Calm
Oil on Canvas
21 x 13.5 in
2019




This is a simple portrait of me. An accurate representation of myself.
Playful. Anxious. Serious. Inconsistent. Impulsive. Calm. Organized. Disorganized.

Moods play a huge part in my art-making. I believe it is very evident in this painting.

In every layer of paint, the mood of the painting changes, mirroring my own. I've always had a plan, visual studies before doing paintings. Those plans aren't always followed because I let my emotions take over.

I'm always inconsistent. Always have been. Always unpredictable. Even I cannot predict myself... which is why there is conflict.

The final look of each painting will always depend on how I'm feeling at that time. In this painting, I started with anxiety and ended up calm.






DSC_1011.jpg






DSC_1009.jpg






DSC_1014.jpg






DSC_1013.jpg






DSC_1016.jpg






Calm.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I see a beautiful presence and knowing in the eyes, a lovely simplicity in the flower and tenderness in the way it's being held. And an uncomplicated posture. All of which would be very calming. Arresting painting. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thank you so much! I appreciate your words a lot. <3

Very beautiful!
I feel indentified with many things you say. Changing moods, disordered emotions,...Sometimes I think that maybe all women are like that, or sensitive people in general...We must learn to use those emotions in our favor, they are very powerful thing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Hmm, well women have those days when they are very sensitive and emotional cos of the hormones, but I don't think all women in general are like this. What I think we commonly have is the "artist" kind of disordered emotions lol. True, once we know how to use them properly, they can help us a lot especially with our art-making.

The artists thing is totally true. "Those days" are every month, that is quite often ... But I agree with you, not all women are like that. I think that sometimes I want to believe certain things to feel accompanied in the feeling ...
Not only in our art-making but our life-making to.
:*

You have said many beautiful words,, I agree with your words ,,,,,, I respect the girls very much. General Chat Chat Loung

How I wish I have this level of talent in expressing emotions. Superb!

Thank you! :) You have the talent in photography tho so use it as your medium. :D

I'm still a noob when it comes to photography. But you're right, expressing comes in many and diverse mediums. I will just continue honing my photography skills (that's if I have one). Haha.

Your peculiarity in the line of face combined with your skill in painting, make every one of your self-portraits truly fascinating!

Thanks phage :D

What you create is a joy to gaze upon

Posted using Partiko Android

Aaww, so nice to hear that. Thanks! :D

A beauty of painting, greetings my dear friend <3

Thank you! :D

Very nice, you are a good artist...

Thank you... ned? XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73