Inktober Day 7 | Exhausted | Thoughts on Life - Finding Rest in Busy Life

in #art5 years ago

Hi Steemians,

If there is any art which I don't like it will be this one. It was supposed to be submitted yesterday but I was exhausted due to my son was not feeling well. Life of every 2.5hours or 3hours tube-feeding was no fun at all, especially it ran throughout midnight too. When you are deprived of sleep, your body system goes haywire, it results in crankiness and agitation. Hence, I did not quite like how the drawing turned out today.

Day 7's Inktober's Prompt is 'exhausted'. Below is the final product of my art. Can you feel I drew it out of tiredness? I just want to draw out my life as a stay-at-home-mom, morning till night cycle. No color on the one at night due to extreme tiredness.

Exhausted

image


Steps

Firstly, I draw with pencil.

image

Followed by outlining with pen.

image

Colour the Steemit logo. Then continue to use ink to draw the rest.

image

image

image

image

image

Selfie time.

image

Finding Rest in Busy Life

Often, people asked me how did I survive my earlier years while Jansen was still on breathing machine support at home, and doing suctioning twice a day? Honestly, as I looked back, I was not quite sure how I sailed through. If I wanted to give people a prompt reply, I would tell them one word. Coffee. And coffee. And coffee. Hence you saw I drew coffee in my piece.

But when I really slow down to think, my survival was based on my reliance on God's strength and grace. Every. Single. Day. Which without, I might easily succumbed to the deadly feeling of loneliness and hopelessness. Well shame on you, Jade, you are a pastor and you felt hopeless?

No shame at all. Because even a pastor is just a normal human being just like the rest, with feelings and emotions, which can either be optimistic or pessimistic. And challenges doesn't recognise whom they want to devour. P/S: I no longer able to serve as pastor now although people still recognise me as a minister of God, because I have devote myself entirely to the healthcare of my 2nd son.

Also, we are all the same. In dust we are formed, to dust we return.

All of us are under this toiling system of the world, where you get the tremendous results by working hard on it. So don't tell me about life is unfair when the whales on Steemit also supporting their fellows whales. Or the rich gets richer.

Well, we did not know how many sleepless days they had laid down their life for their success on Steemit way before we knew about Steemit. Or the steem world.

I know life is tensed. Life is pressurising. But we are responsible on our own life. So why not we focus on how to improve our life instead of keep pointing fingers at others?

I know I titled this "Learning to rest" but why was I talking about the above? Often, we get tired not simply due to physical tiredness. Unless you are a construction worker or rubbish collector or gym trainers or an athlete or sportman, your tiredness are mostly mental and emotional lethargic.

In this busy and demanding world, we can't run from peer pressure and competitive nature of human. Under normal circumstance, we wake up wanting to get, get, get and do, do, do. Achieve. Hit the target. Reach the goal!

All these are normal and noble desire, just don't do it at the expense of your mental and emotional health.

I learn to live my life according to my own pace. I am not saying that I am free from competitive or comparison nature. What I was saying is I learn to accept that my life is different from the rest. None of us have the same lifestyle.

Some people wake up and straight away behave like a F1 car. Some wake up still feeling like a out-of-gas bulldozer.

I have learned to take things slower. Learning to chill and calm down in this face-paced world is not easy at all. You need to be really secure to be a snail while watching other snails having turbo engine on them and they zoom fast, disappearing right before eyes. And you are still p-a-c-i-n-g--s--l--o--w--l--y behind, oblivious to what's in front.

I learn to be like Mary, instead of Martha in the Bible story, to sit at the feet of Jesus, enjoying 100% of Him since he is the guest. Where is Martha? She was busy preparing food for the guest while complaining to Jesus that nobody helped her, implying that she felt left out or alone.

How many times we face this exact same feeling in life? As a mother, you are busy whole day and you can feel nobody appreciates you. As a leader in the company, you feel alone leading everyone while no one truly backs you up. Etc. Etc.

I would end with this...

"Life is a journey. There will never be a day you can proudly say you have achieved enough. By the time you work hard to get new iPhone, another one is coming up the way and others will get it sooner than you because you just spent huge amount on this one. So, don't be hard on yourself if others seem to be more successful than you. Learn to rest in your own success, your own pace, your own achievement."

So how did I survive my unideal life now? I used to be a high achiever but now I can't do all those anymore except to be stucked at home taking care of my child with health issue. I can complain, yes. I can feel sulky, yes. But no, I sit at the feet of Jesus. And he told me this, as for me, I am nurturing a son, building a family, and passing on legacy to my sons who will be great heroes in the future.. Am I exhausted? Big yes! But who doesn't? Even a baby can feel tired of crying, lol...

Learn to rest. Sometimes slow down abit. Try to sip your coffee and taste the aroma. Try to chow down your food slower while giving thanks to gut. Whatever, just give yourself a break sometimes. Even a race car need to rest for changing tyres.

You will not lose everything just by taking a rest. You will not lose everything by slowing down a while. You only lose out when you give up hope on yourself. Or others.

black.png

What is Inktober?

You may check it out at the official website here.. It is one-month October challenge by artist Jake Parker focused in improving skills and developing positive drawing habits.

Inktober Rules:

  1. Make a drawing in ink (you can do a pencil under-drawing if you want).
  2. Post it*
  3. Hashtag it with #inktober and #inktober2018
  4. Repeat

Note: you can do it daily, or go the half-marathon route and post every other day, or just do the 5K and post once a week. What ever you decide, just be consistent with it. Inktober is about growing and improving and forming positive habits, so the more you’re consistent the better.

That's it! Now go make something beautiful.

*Post it on any social media account you want or just post it on your refrigerator. The point is to share your art with someone. :)

2018promptlist.jpg
Taken from official website https://inktober.com

Check out my previous Inktober:
Day 1 Poisonous | Poisonous Words
Day 2 Tranquil | Beach
Day 3 Roasted | Roasted Corn Cob
Day 4 Spell | Witch's Spell
Day 5 Chicken | Where is my wife?
Day 6 Drooling | Baby Drooling

double trouble.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

20180516_002249_0001.png
20180212_193505 (1).png

banner_moonbot.png

Sort:  

Your drawing is wonderful @iamjadeline, I loved the logo on your's girls shirt

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

great entry, happy inktober to you!)))

Hello well done you managed to draw even after been so tired. I admire that im struggling to post steemit posts because of tiredness and fall asleep before i can do anything. I like the morning part this is pretty much like me and im right now having my morning coffee:)have a lovely day

Hi @iamjadeline!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.348 which ranks you at #7209 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 68 places in the last three days (old rank 7141).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 223 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74