Drawing Chun from Big Fish & Begonia [My Fan Art]

in #art6 years ago (edited)

eng.jpg

Hello everyone!

A few days ago I watched a movie called Big Fish & Begonia, and apart from being moved, it inspired me a lot and I thought that I should do some drawing or paint something in its honor, the film is really magical and transmits very nice values, that's why I also plan to make a post with a review and tell a little more about it, but today you will only see my step by step with this drawing that I enjoyed doing.

To begin, the drawing is inspired by an image I got on Pinterest, it's about Chun, this is one of the protagonists of the film, a young girl, curious and irreverent to her social traditions.

42c91f64a951a9cf1e07b2ecec1fc904.jpg
Source

From my perspective, the interpretation that I give to this illustration is that Chun is covered with flowers that could mean the cycle of natural life, of trees, of people, death and rebirth of the soul turned into something beautiful, this It is one of the main concepts that this film deals with.

big fish.png

eng draw.png

Pencils used for this drawing:

3H, HB, B, B2, B3.


bigfich.jpg

1.JPG

1 - Using a 3H pencil I made the lines of the silhouette, face, head, neck and part of the chest, I do not usually make many guidelines to provide, I usually make the lines directly and go arranging everything as I draw.

Tip: Each person has a different technique to draw, do not try to follow each step to the perfection of a guide, things go better when they come naturally, without being forced and using the method that makes you more comfortable.


2.JPG

2 - Then I made the silhouettes of the flowers inside her face, this took some work because at the beginning I wanted to make them identical to the original image, but then I started inventing them myself and seeing Asian flowers in google in order to have some idea.

The first thing I started to fill with the other pencils B, 2B and 3B was the part of the hair, although I was inspired by an image I did not want my drawing to be the same, so I decided to do it in grayscale and give it a different touch, in this case, I wanted to give volume and not be as flat as you can see in the original illustration.


3.JPG

3 - Without being very sure of how I would treat the hair (it was difficult to synthesize in my mind) I began to fill in the right part where the flowers and leaves are with pencils 3H, HB and B. I also gave life to her look with the pencil 3B.


4.JPG

4 - Here I show the finished hair after 4 unsuccessful attempts, erase and fill several times because it did not make it look like I wanted, as you can see I could give volume, is one of the ways I like to make hair.


5.JPG

5 - I carefully painted each petal, leaf and stem, paying attention to the shades of color to achieve a gray scale that matches in terms of shadows and lights.


7.JPG

6 - With the same previous technique I had to keep making the petals and leaves that continued to run through Chun's body.

So far I arrived that day, because it was night and I could not see what I was doing with the artificial light of my room, so I opted to stop and continue the drawing the next day.


8.JPG

7 - The next day I just had to finish the flowers of the torso, her suit and done, drawing finished.

9.JPG

10.JPG

11.JPG

This is one of the drawings I've done that I liked the most, I think it's because of the pleasant feeling that this film causes. I hope you like it as much as I do!

big fish.png

maspeke.png

aliance.png

banner_steemsugars.jpg

Twitter: @ilhuna_
Instagram: @ilhuna - @ilhunaphoto
Behance: https://www.behance.net/ilhuna/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/ilhuna/
Blog: https://nostalgiaporsiempre.wordpress.com/
©2018 María Zerpa

ilhucolor.png

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
8ix7d6nx3h.jpg

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ilhuna from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello @ilhuna, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15