My first experience with calligraphy - it was damn awesome!:)

in #art6 years ago

Hi, guys!

Today was my first calligraphy class, and I'm still under impression. I had no idea it's so interesting, and such a relaxing experience! I would compare the study process with writing meditation:) But let me tell everything from the very beginning.

My classes are in the very center of my city, though it took me only about half an hour to get there. And I even still had time for lavender coffee (try it if you see, it's delicious). Then I found the house where classes take part, and I still had to buy all supplies I needed to make calligraphy. I needed a special pilot pen, with flat feather, and some high quality paper. I also bought a funny case for feathers:)

First of all our teacher told us a bit of calligraphy story, and specifically about the font we were going to study - Fraktur. From German it translates like "breaking", and it tells a lot about the font.

And then the study process began. It was 2 hours long, and to tell the truth in the ed my fingers were in pain, even despite the fact I use them a lot for drawing!:)

In general I'm really happy that I decided to take these classes. I hope soon I'll be able to decorate my illustrations with beautiful inscriptions:)

Is it hard to study? A bit yes:) But at the same time it's so much fun!

Sort:  

Do you normally draw for 2hrs straight? If not maybe that's why your hand is sore. I think calligraphy and even different types of drawing (pencil vs painting vs even on a digital tablet) uses your hand muscles differently though, and also the added concentration from doing something unfamiliar XD The end result looks amazing, are there more classes that you're going to go back for?

goatsig

I do:) But when I was a beginner in drawing i had the same trouble lol:)
This calligraphy class is one month duration, so it was only a first lesson:)

I loved your calligraphy, I see that you also draw very well.

could you give me some advice to improve and that my work be victable?

Wow! I didn’t expect you to enrol into something else. Well, life is a learning process. We always want to learn something new. Glad to hear you attending calligraphy classes!

Для первого раза – отличный результат!

Спасибо))

Thanks for sharing your experience, it looks like a lot of work.
Did you use an ink for a colorful calligraphy, how did you make it gradient?
I had a class of calligraphy a long time ago, we only used black and blue ink at that time.

The first one in my teachers picture, I yet don't know how to do it:)

У тебя всегда такие забавные пенальчики:))) Я думаю это отлично для первого раза:) Это очень интересно, но боюсь, что проооописи таааак утомиииителтны:)) из-за этих страхов я не могу начать ничего:)))

Не попробуешь не узнаешь))
Забавные пенальчики, да и вообе всякие забавные штуки это моё guilty pleasure:)

Just so beautiful. Looking forward to more posts from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30