Vinyl album cover spine art found in Atlanta hotel hallway, how many of the albums do/did you have?

in #art6 years ago

20180908_144812 (2).jpg
This is a print that was about 5 feet x 5 feet hanging in the hallway to the International Tower at the Hyatt Regency Downtown Atlanta, GA, where I was at last week.

The question I have is how many of these did/do you have? For myself, I actually counted 12. There is The Wall, Wish You Were Here, Songs in the Attic, Doors Greatest Hits, just to name a few. Of course the vinyl I owned is long gone, but I do have them in CD format still. Some of them are hard to figure out what they actually are in the photo. If you can identify some of the more difficult one to see by clicking on the photo and zooming, feel free to make a comment with what it is. It would be interesting to have a near complete list of what every album is in this print, but a few of them have absolutely no text on them.

It is a very cool piece of art and and I'd like to find something like this that perhaps has some slightly more contemporary albums in it. There is a local junk second hand store near me that is selling old records for only about $2 each. I am thinking about just piling up my own stack in their store and taking a quick photo that is customized. Maybe someone would even want to buy my image on one of those copyrighted photo sites if it were good enough to make their own print?

My collection would be many albums from the 70's and 80's, and some from the 90's. I own over 400 CD's and have all of the jewel cases in a tote in my crawl space. The discs themselves are in a few binders that allowed me to eliminate an entire bookshelf into (2) 4 inch binders of discs. The spines of CD's are far more boring though to photograph. So many are all the same font and colored red text. I think the vintage look of the records is so much more retro looking. The record covers with some "wear" even add character to the image. So again I ask, how many can you say you have? How many can you identify that look pretty challenging to figure out what they are? I don't have the answer key. I was hoping we could make it together. Thanks for having a look! Write back with any questions or comments, I write back.

Sort:  

You should take your own photo...!! If you do so... share it :D

I am planning on it. Thanks. Of course I will end up sharing it. I wanted to get to that second hand store this weekend and I think I am already out of time. I'm quite sure that I could put together a nice stack of records and put them in a pile for a few minutes to take a photo. They don't even have them organized. You literally have to just look through milk crates of records to find things. I've looked a few times to see if I find a hidden gem that might be a collectible, but nothing interesting as of yet. Thanks for having a look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89