Steem-Cartoon: My Sleepless Nights (A New Comic Series by @izziqbal)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Sleep; a state of rest where one recharges their energy for tomorrow's day. That's my definition of sleep. On the other hand, funny things can happen if you don't get enough sleep.

As an art student, it's a common behavior for us to not get our precious night slumber. Most of the reason is doing tonnes of assignment and probably insomnia. Also, they say the best idea comes around at the darkest of nights. I would always get some good sketch ideas during those nights, even if there's an important day the next day. I never thought sleepless night can be addicting though. With that addiction, it comes with a lot of experience about it and that experience will be in good use, at last.

So, for today's post, I would like to announce that I will be doing a comic series about my sleepless nights! I will be planning to do it weekly. This is also my first official comic series. I have never made one before except for random sitcom. So yeah, I hope you guys enjoy this first episode of the series! :D (and HAPPY NEW YEAR 2018!!!)

If you guys would only like to see the comic without the long story text, here's the full version of it.


Episode 1: Cup Noodle.

The time was around 3:27 a.m. I was currently taking a break from doing my assignment. I haven't eaten anything yet other than breakfast but that was obviously in the morning. So, I decided to make a late supper to boost up my energy back and instant noodle was perfect for a quick sufficient snack. Since I'll be planning to stay awake for the night, I decided to make a Nescafe drink to go with the noodle too.

It is time like this that I always go 'Auto-Pilot mode', where I just let my body move on its own while I muse. During this mode, I am only half aware of my surroundings. I don't know why but it's a fact that late night is the common time where people get in a pensive mood, reflecting deep thoughts about their life.

As I wait for the noodle to cook, I watched myself stirring the noodle and eventually spaced out. Luckily, I didn't go out for too long. The yawn of my haunting sleep snapped me out of it, fortunately.

n2.png


5 minutes later, the noodles are finally cooked. The instant noodle I made was actually a fried noodle type. Mi Sedaap is a known Indonesian instant friend noodle brand in Malaysia. Mi Sedaap is translated to "Delicious Noodle" with an extra letter A in "sedap". Other than the seasoning, it also comes with a packet that contains refined palm oil, chili sauce, sweet soy sauce and last but not least, the crunchy fried onions. Unlike any typical instant noodle, you don't need the water that you boiled with it...since it is supposed to be a fried noodle.

With that in mind, I immediately went to the kitchen sink and grabbed the cooking strainer somewhere in the dish rack. There, I strained the water from the noodle. Since it's a fried noodle, it's best to get it wet free. The drier, the better!

n1_2.png


I was getting a bit sluggish by the time I was done cooking the noodle. My eyes won't stop trying to close by itself but I endured. I was way more hungry than sleepy. Anyhow, I headed back to the kitchen bar where my bowl was.

n3.png

There, I saw my bowl, already filled with the seasoning I put before I cooked the noodle. I poured my noodle straight into it, or so I thought...

n4.png

At the moment, I was still in my Auto-Pilot mode. I didn't focus on what I was doing as I was questioning myself in my own head, thinking about what is this and that, etc.

I looked again at my bowl and for a solid 10 seconds, I realized my bowl somehow got smaller. I thought I was just seeing things. And then, I saw my REAL bowl next to my cup.

I soon realized I actually poured my noodles inside of the cup that was already filled with the Nescafe I made for my drink.

Since I was really hungry, let's just say I still got to eat my noodle but this time, with just plain water...

(THE END)


My Plans

Hello, again! I know I already covered the reason I wanted to do this comic series stuff but I also want to mention about the plans of what content I will provide for my Steemit blogs in the future.

For the past week, I was actually looking for ideas on how to make my blog more interesting ever since I did my first (introduction) post on Steemit. With that introduction post, I've attracted a lot of people about my artwork, most of them really enjoyed the mecha doodles I did and that's a good sign for me! Unlike the comic series, I will only mecha art/doodle if I feel like it since I don't wanna get TOO busy. I am still currently studying, so I won't be sure if I have the time to do both comic and mecha art in the same week.

I also realized that my fellow ComiNation Club members are doing contest from other fellow Steemians. It was actually quite fun to see many artists doing challenges and earned some promising rewards out of it. So, I would like to put that in one of my content too.

TL;DR:

My blog's future content post will be something about:-

  • Comic series (My Sleepless Nights)
  • Mecha drawings.
  • Participate in a drawing challenge contest

Lastly, I would like to thank @sireh and @perennial for helping me out with doing this Steemit blogging thing.

That is all, thank you! I'll see ya guys in my next post. Ta-ta!

7.jpg

Sort:  

I'm Like comic! Vote and resteem

Thank you so much, man! And wow, I can't believe my post went up so fast.

Love the comic. I like the new year challenges as well. I am adding 'join some challenges' as well to mine. And to keep drawing and sharing my art on steemit with our great community here. Happy New year!

Great to hear that you wanted to do the same as well, @donnadavisart. I didn't realized I just set myself up with a new year resolution with the plans I mentioned there haha. I wish you good luck with your journey... and thank you! ~

Oh, maybe you didn't want them as resolutions, sorry. I just assumed :) Good luck with your plans anyway. Iove comics to looking forward to more.

Regarding the noodles part, I know that feeling bro xD!

Glad you enjoyed it, haha

Congratulations @izziqbal, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 6929 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2227.00. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

New to Steemit here, i was interetsted in starting my own comic series as well. You got my upvote! i see you use the stylus pad and also what program do you use for sketching and comics? i use Adobe Illustrator.

Hey there @sonnyknight! Thank you and I wish good luck with your comic series too. I'm using Adobe Photoshop CC 2017

Salam kenal buat adik saya @izziqbal, selamat atas pencapaian yang telah diperoleh semalam. jangan lupa ikuti dan vote Mba @mainar dari Aceh ya?

Love your work! I am thinking about creating a comic strip here. I am currently just using sketchup on iPad. What’s your review on stylus pad? Would you recommend?

Hey there, @akirachang! Awesome to hear that you wanted to do a comic strip. I would love to see it in the future :D

About the stylus pad, I don't have that much experience about them. I only had the Wacom Bamboo CTL-471 and currently using the Wacom Cintiq 13HD.

Although, if you are looking for a decent stylus pad, I would recommend the Wacom Intuos Pro. If you prefer screen type, check out Artisul or Huion products. They have cheaper Cintiq-like alternatives.

Hope this helps~

nice one bro! cepat siapkan fanart tu, ada banyak lagi nanti character yg aq nak create hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99