My Latest Portrait: Black, White and Flowers🌸

in #art5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190413_152700_857.jpg

Title: untitled
Medium: mixed media, graphite and colored pencils
Time: 3-4 days
Completed: April 13, 2019
Please do not copy, post or share image without proper credit or permission

This is a scan of my latest art, although it is more clear, I find it grainy and has lost some smoothness.

2019 a struggle

I have only made very few artworks for 2019 which were completed. I have made only three. But I am proud of my art since I was able to successfully reach expectations.

IMG_20190413_143233_825.jpg
These are the number 2 and 3 together which I made for my friends.

Process photos

I have a few process photos and video that I'd like to share.
IMG_20190413_153723_845.jpg

Steps:

As you can see, I made a collage. I think it is best to group them together so we are able to see the progress of:
(1) Process of sketching and light shading. First layer shading with smudging using tissue paper.
(2) middle tone shading and defining shapes ans lines like defining the nose, darkening hair and eyelashes/ eyebrows.
(3) Shadows and final layer of a darker pencil.
(4) erasing shades to create highlights.

Colored pencils:

(1) start with light pastel shades of yellow and flesh tone.
(2) add regular color pink, and blue for shading and extra accents.
(3) darken some shadows using red color.
(4) layer different greens for the leaves.

Close up look with my favorite process photos

1970-01-01 08.00.00 53.jpg

Step 1 sketch and light layer of shading

1970-01-01 08.00.00 80.jpg

1970-01-01 08.00.00 64.jpg

This is midtone

1970-01-01 08.00.00 66.jpg

See here the hairs are darkened with 7b, in contrast with a 3b light pressure and heavy pressure shading, it gives much depth. I also used a mechanical pencil and gum eraser to make highlights.

And done

1970-01-01 08.00.00 75.jpg
Do you see how these processes are applied?
Let me know if you have observed them.

I will be uploading some videos of these on Dtube, hoping it will be a success. 😅🌹🙏

Scan

IMG_20190413_152700_857.jpg

The high contrast edit of the scan makes it ultimately darker but clearer.

I've been meaning to improve my shading and portraiture, I hope to practice more. Feels good to make and post art again.

My next project

IMG_20190413_172829.jpg

⚔️🛡️ Just some warrior, sword and shield drawing!

Thank you for viewing my post ♥️

May God bless you! Have a steemfilled artsy day!


🌍🌎🌏
THE ENVIRONMENT CALLS FOR YOU
HELP SAVE HER ♥️✨🕊️

received_2021368747907306.png
Protecting the Wildlife has never been so essential in the history of humanity as it is now. Bring awareness worldwide!
20180313_145342.gif
20180321_112522.gif
20180326_194801.gif
20180411_225249.gif
WE DO NOT INHERIT THE EARTH FROM OUR ANCESTORS, WE BORROW IT FROM OUR CHILDREN
🌏🌎🌍

😱IT IS IMPORTANT TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES☝️
I recommend:
@steemgigs
@blocktrades
@precise
@cloh76.witness
@ausbitbank

SOME AWESOME BLOGGERS
You don't want to miss😉
@gems.and.cookies
@anomadsoul
@surpassinggoogle
@topkpop
@hiddenblade
@deveerei
@korinkrafting
@fukumineko
@sethlinson
@mattphilleo
@deemarshall

That's all folks!
XOXO 💋
@jacinta.sevilla

received_10214586986052169.jpegDQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.png

Sort:  

I love this portrait! She is a beautiful girl and those flowers add to her delicacy and kindness. Pink fits her expression very well. It looks romantic and cheerful.

It doesn't matter many how many you finished. What matters is how you feel about it. If you're happy with your art you can do just a few. It's not about the numbers and your artwork is always spot on.

Thank you for sharing Jacinta! Have a wonderful weekend!

That's a good point @delishtreats I definitely realized that sometimes it's not about the quantity but the effort and sincerity you pour into what you're doing, also the improvement that comes with it.
Hoping to do some more soon too.

Thank you so much and have a great weekend too!
<3

Beautiful work. Nice details with the roses.
It gives the impression that roses are showering down from her hood.
Just an impression: the scanned image does not do justice to the drawing.
the previous picture, with your hand in it was perfect.
It reminded me or Renaissance paintings, your hands. Have you ever drawn them? :)

HI,
yes I have drawn my hands before, thank you so much for telling me your observations, I do think that the scan might be brighter but the contrast flushed out all the fine details.
I will take a new picture with a better camera, like a digi cam instead of just my cellphone.

This is the drawing of my hands

Anyway, have a great day and God bless you.

Thank you for your kind feedback!

Congratulations @jacinta.sevilla! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 500 posts. Your next target is to reach 550 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi jacinta.sevilla,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much Curie

Beautifully done Jacinta, the combination black and white and just adding the colour of a flower that changed the whole appearance of the drawing. That just lighten it up. I like the sequence of your portraits, it is like a study where you are searching and sometimes capturing helps a lot to analyse if there is anything later you want to correct. As always very well done!

I think black and white looks very clear and defined to the eyes but the flowers just give life and beauty too, thank you for the positive feedback I totally appreciate it.

Yes, photos help to determine how well I've copied. often taking pics really help and observing from a distance.

Thank you so much have a blessed day and great weekend ahead :D

<3

This art come very good .... I try come look more what you post soon :)

Thank you so much :D see you around!

you are welcome :)

I love how you show things and how they are done. The woman you have drawn is very pretty and draws you to the face. I think it is clever how color is added to the flowers giving the drawing depth. I am looking forward to the next one with the shields and armour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70