World of Wakanda: First Fan Art for Black Panther 🐱 Tips and know-how on using Oil Pastels as a fast and professional medium

in #art6 years ago (edited)

MEDIUM: OIL PASTELS ON FELT PAPER

Surface Dimension: 20" x 28"
Time: 8 days
Method:

  • 1 layering midtone as base
  • 2 Adding highlights
  • 3 Shadows
  • 4 smudge
  • 5 reapplication - for color and highlight/shadow enhancement

🎨 USING OIL PASTELS:

IMG_20180516_161857.jpg
General Okoye from black panther movie, art by @jacinta.sevilla

💡Consider oil pastels like Coloredpencils but softer and more liquid. Detailing is not as easy but it can create a fuller and more vibrant effect with colors thus producing a more realistic effect. Aesthetically a +1!

💡The application is broader once applied and requires a larger support (surface)

💡 Not only can oil pastels can be rendered easily from smooth to rough depending on the artist's preference but it can also be creatively presented with fine gradations to textured expressions on a canvas such as alla prima, abstract or expressionism.

💡 Smudging can easily be done by hand/ fingers, cotton or ear buds.

💡 There is a varied array of surfaces you can use for your art regardless of thickness or texture, like:

  • Brown paper
  • Ordinary paper
  • Felt paper (which I used)
  • Sand Paper
  • Canvas cloth (mounted or not)
  • Card board
  • Glass (clear or opaque)

With this we can expect to be able to use this medium for other similar surfaces even if it is on a window, bottles, walls, and any other way you can think of. Only, it is not always permanent if it is not framed or exposed to water in the environment.

💡 Oil pastels can help you create a larger artwork with a less time. However, precision is important because it is not easily erased.

💡 Using colored surfaces for automatic colored background. You can buy papers that can automatically substitute the background color or theme of your art. So this way, it is much convenient and faster. Just like in my artwork, I used dark blue felt paper.

💡It is possible to use a vehicle for oil pastels to make it stick to a certain medium. Also, one can add more oil to it to even enhance the colors.

THE REFERENCE

🖼️ I chose this image because it is colorful and the background matches my already prepared dark blue felt paper.
black-panther-okoye.jpg
Image Source: Danai Gurira interview about Black Panther

Why did Jacinta draw this character?
I do love the movie, and I love the characters. This is the first fan art I have ever made and that is rare for me
Why?
This movie is not only action packed but looking at the message and representations, I think it is very meaningful and noble.

I love african culture and even learned swahili in my free time. Very beautiful and full of soul. And this is one of the few movies that add a royal gracefulness and rich culture to Africans and as Danai Gurira (the actress who played Okoye) said how many Africans are wrongly interpret in media. This movie does a lot of justice.
My favorite character is general Okoye, who is loyal to her country, she knows the beauty and righteousness she wants to defend. I also love the actress, Danai, who is also very dedicated to upholding the beauty she knows and sees in her people, herself and the culture of the continent.

I think that is worth looking up to and we can apply that. Love your culture and love yourselves and never look down on other people! We are all beautiful.

That's why I make art, this first fan art, to draw attention to a message we all need to see and learn from.
It is worth my time and God given skill.

The Process

Let me explain first how:

  • I literally just filled/drew it without guides (pencil sketch)
  • Layered colors before smudging them
  • No room for erasures
  • And I am aware that it could not end up looking 100% like the reference.
  • See the above points on my basic processes at the beginning of this post.

So we start
IMG_20180508_131254_569.jpg

I start with the face, midtone. Trying to copy the shapes proportions.

Then I put in highlights and shadow and details.
PhotoGrid_1526483129122.jpg

If you're wondering why there are some upside-down photos, I take them to see if I habe achieved a natural look and blend of colors.

20180516_232255.gif

PhotoGrid_1526483296353.jpg

PhotoGrid_1526483474089.jpg

White base provides a better yellow effect for gold colors.

20180517_083355.gif

IMG_20180514_162819_822.jpg

IMG_20180516_152459.jpg

20180516_180248.gif

Details are made using white color and layered with mid tones and defined by black pastels for shadow and depth.

The Finished Artwork

Here are the different shots I took. They are slightly edited so as to retain the vibrance of colors.
IMG_20180516_172536_347.jpg

IMG_20180516_161857.jpg

IMG_20180516_170034_613.jpg

I enjoyed drawing this! Very challenging.

Hoping to achieve more:

In my next attempts, I would like to try putting in more details and realism.
Next, maybe I can make animal portraits using this medium.

If you would like to suggest anything, please do!
PhotoGrid_1526463795103.jpg

Thank you very much!

With love and care from Wakanda ✔️

😱IT IS IMPORTANT TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES☝️
I recommend these
@steemgigs
@blocktrades
@precise
@cloh76.witness
@ausbitbank

SOME AWESOME BLOGGERS
You don't want to miss😉
@gems.and.cookies
@anomadsoul
@surpassinggoogle
@bayanihan
@topkpop
@sirsensei
@hiddenblade
@juliakponsford
@juliank
@bayanihan
@deveerei
@korinkrafting
@fukumineko
@vocafrost
@noellesevilla
@kneelyrac
@sukiyakii
@sethlinson
@helene
@mattphilleo

🦄✨❣️🌼
Proud member of
#steemph
#artguildph
#untalented
#steemitachievers
#steemitbloggers
#gratefulvibes
#steem-cartoon

That's all folks!
XOXO 💋
@jacinta.sevilla
IMG_20180327_110026_769.jpg

See you soon! 👀✨


received_10214586986052169.jpegDQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.png
Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

This is beautiful. It deserves a curie.

👀✨ thank you for the support hehe.

Very beautiful your drawing, you managed to capture the beauty of the image on your sheet of paper. Congratulations!

I'm so happy to hear that!!!
🐳 Thank you!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

It was the best movie I have watched these days.
You bring the hangover back

Yes me toooo!!!!! Hehe! Ahhh with infinity wars still showing, the hang over isn't over at all hehe
Thanks 🐳

This turned out just gorgeous! I used to play around with oil pastels in school, but haven't touched them since... they were always fun to use, but can also be very challenging - you were able to achieve such beautifully blended features on her face, and great details on the costume, it shows that you've had lots of practice.
While it's not photo-realistic, you can definitely see who it is, and you've captured her likeness beautifully. I like the choice you made to use such vibrancy in the colors. Can't wait to see the next pastel painting!

Thank you so much! I am still figuring out what blends and techniques to use to improve my work. Im fond of photo realism but it's the most challenging. Thanks for your positivity it is encouraging ♥️
🐳🐳🐳

What beautiful work, and what an exceptional post to showcase it! Okoye was my favorite character from the movie and I’m so stoked to see this!

Awwwww everyone loves her haha ♥️
Without question! Hehe
Thank you very much 🐳🐳

Wow! I always admired people who could draw realistic paintings but to be able to do them with pastels is some true and great talent. The picture came out amazing. 💚

Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
In my elementary/highschool days i didn't know how to draw :( and would envy some friends who could make such nice art with oil pastels, especially those who could join competitions.
So i really aimed to work hard and achieve what i always wanted.
Thank youuuu 🎨🐳

pretty Michonee :D

Yes shes michonne too hehe :)

beautiful beautiful work!! Love the process video too, I need to figure out how to do one of those.

Hi! Thank you!
Yes it is not so hard to use! :)
Let me know how it goes!

Steem on! 🐳

what DO you use to make and upload the videos? I am having trouble figuring it out

I record using my cellphone camera and convert it into a GIF - you can use A gif maker app :) you can choose in app stores :)
GIF maker or Gif editor.

thank you so much! <3

woohoo! I did it!! Thanks so much :)

Great!!!! You're welcome!

nice work - I like the way you describe your process (and video)

Thanks! I hope it is easy to understand :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27