Art Process: Symbiote Spider-man

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! Thank you for all the warm welcoming comments and follows on my first post yesterday, I really appreciate it. Today I want to share with you another art process post. Below is another one of my Spider-man drawings. This Spider-man drawing is based after the comic book legend artist John Romita Sr. I have also posted a video showing my art creation process showing the rough drawing, the pencils, inks, color flats, and then final color.

The Art Process:

As you will see in this and many of my upcoming posts there is a particular process I follow when creating artwork, whether it be with traditional media, digital media or mix of both. There are many ways to get to the desired final image and everyone works in different methods and techniques. What works for one artist may or may not work for another but it is best to try out different ways to see what works best with you. Most of all have fun with the process and don't be afraid to make mistakes.

Rough Drawing:

At the rough drawing stage you want to be as loose as possible trying to get the right pose, proportions, composition down before tightening up. Make as many mistakes and corrections at this stage.

Pencil Drawing:

At this stage you begin to tighten up your rough drawing double checking and correcting as you go. You can still be loose but making more definitive lines towards your final drawing. You can still erase at this stage so there is no pressure if you make a mistake. When you see the video and compare the rough to the pencils you will notice that I lowered the top leg at this stage as a correction. (Sometimes, as you will see in some of my upcoming posts, some of my pencils are still very loose and I make my final decisions with ink)

Ink Drawing:

Now that you have done your tighter pencils you can now begin to do the inks. For this particular drawing I started off inking the outline and then worked towards the interior and then filling in the larger black areas towards the end. Mistakes can happen here but you can use some white correction fluid to fix things you aren't happy with at the end. Once I finish the inks, using traditional media, I scan my drawing in and then open it in Photoshop and clean up any lines.

Color:

Once the image is scanned in and cleaned up. I set the inks layer to "multiply" in the layer settings. Underneath the inks layer I create a new layer for the blue color for Symbiote Spider-man and a new layer for the color of the background. This one is particularly easy since much of the character is black so the only colors needed were the blue and the background. It is good to have them on a separate layer so you can have more control over them.

Final:

The final touch I have is adding an old comic book dots grain layer and set it to a low opacity so it doesn't overwhelm the final piece. I did this to give it the old comic book feel.

I hope this gave you a better insight into my process. I look forward to posting more and explaining my art process for those particular art pieces. Thanks!

Art Supplies:

Paper: Daler/Rowney Simply Sketchbook Soft White 8.5" x 11" 65lb https://amzn.to/2QB86Pc
Mechanical Pencil: Pentel GraphGear 1000 .05 Lead https://amzn.to/2xhu9SN
Eraser: General's Kneaded Rubber Eraser https://amzn.to/2pedWcU
Pen: Black Copic Multiliners https://amzn.to/2pd5UB3
Marker: Black Kuretake Zig Mangaka Flexible https://amzn.to/2QAGVnq
Correction Pen: White Uni-Ball Signo UM-120AC.1 https://amzn.to/2xni3H6
Printer: Epson WorkForce WF-3620 Scanner https://amzn.to/2QBgTRi
Painting Program: Adobe Photoshop CS6

SpidermanBlackSuitThumbnail.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @jaimeramirezart! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71