Tribute to Dave Mann

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Dave and Jacquie Mann

This story is about an artist who was the best of the best in the biking and motorcycling world: Dave Mann.
He painted many many different types of paintings, from the biking world out on solo runs like the one that had a biker with his lady out in the boonies and a flat tire on the rear, and it's starting to rain to the huge run with bikes up the kazoo going up the road with no end to the bikes, to the local biker who's bike wouldn't start outside the bar and he's getting so pissed and about to kick it off it's wheels!!!

He did quite a few paintings with the veterans of the wars, especially the war in Nam, and featured them, especially if they rode. Dave had a strong love for the vets and those who laid down their lives for this country and painted special tributes to the fallen:


He was very patriotic and respectful of those who also loved this country and advocated the founding principles of this country by incorporating them into some of his paintings:


Dave also painted the centerfolds for Easyrider's Magazine for all of us bikers in the 70s and 80s, and then did some for Iron Horse Magazine later on when they came out. These Easyriders magazines became a staple for a lot of the motorcycling community for a lot of years, and became very sought after for collectors. I had a collection of probably 50 or 60 issues of Easyriders, and about 10 or 15 of Iron Horse, which featured other bikes besides Harleys. I would buy 2 issues if I wanted to hang the centerfold on the wall, which I did several times.



As far as I'm aware of, this picture was one of the most loved and well known pictures in Easyriders! It is also one of my favorite paintings that Dave did, and it always reminded me of Zig Zag, Miraculous Mutha, Cheech & Chong, and getting crazy in the 60s and 70s.

And last but not least, another one of my most favorite paintings by him, although there were so many that there are way too many to put down here:

Dave Mann

In closing, as long as there are motorcycles and the many different types of people that ride them, and as long as there are motorcycle clubs who live the true biker lifestyle, Dave Mann will be a solid monument and tribute to that lifestyle and will be remembered by all of us in our hearts and in our minds.

I wish to express my sincere appreciation to Jacquie Mann and the family for allowing me to do this tribute, as he needs to be out here since he was a staple for all of us; I also want to thank Paisano Publications for publishing his work and for the Easyriders Magazine, since we loved and grew up with both. We wish the best for Jacquie and the family.

As a side note, I (and I know I'm not alone) really miss Dave's paintings and Miraculous Mutha's awesome pictures in Easyriders.

For anyone who is interested, Jacquie Mann and the family have a page on Facebook, go here

Jacquie also maintains a website for the family here

Sort:  

I know how important it was to you, to create a tribute to this amazing artist, friend, husband, and overall...human being. I think you have MORE than accomplished this, my friend. What a wonderfully written piece, that shows not only how much Dave Mann was loved, but also how much he is truly missed. Thank you for sharing this with all of us my friend; I too send love and respect to Jacquie Mann and all of her family... well-done brother!!

Thank you @wesphilbin, I really did want to do this, I loved his work.
Also gave some exposure for Jacquie's Facebook Page and their website; that helps, I hope.

Fabulous tribute! Well written, and a good selection of artwork that you presented! I am so glad his widow gave her permission to allow you to proceed with this! Nicely done, my friend! 🙌

Thank you @thekittygirl, and thank you for the suggestions and the encouragement!

Wow this was a great tribute @jamesrussell! I enjoyed finding out about him!

Thanks for telling us his story!

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't believe you came from this lifestyle, @dreemsteem, therefore I wouldn't expect you to know about him; but almost the entire biking world does, just like we lost Indian Larry about a month before Dave, and more recently we lost a custom motorcycle figure, Arlen Ness who designed and built custom bikes.

This is THE american art for me
Please James ADD two more tags so you get more viewings

Thank you @brittandjosie and suggestion duly noted and remedied!
Just wasn't sure what to put it under...

Well all is good

awsome post!! i knoow easyrider !! aww so cool, what art work, by Mr Mann :D grafic and colors are soo vivid :D
Thanks for doing this post hun :D

We grew up with this magazine after I got out of the USMC, and we had his art all over the place in the house back then.

Aw soo cool :D soo mom& dad fans too??
I would have loved having the art all over the house, as i fidn it cheerfull & happy :D

No @swedishdragon, I lived in an apartment, and got a job as a butcher, meat-cutter.

Aw ok ok :) woow your a butcher?? Must be one of the best jobs ever :D i get all excited in them kind of stores, we dont have many leaft in sweden thow :(

That job was for a small chain of restaurants called "The Burger Pit" @swedishdragon...

aw, i think? i heard about them??

They were only in the South San Francisco Bay area, but I only did that for a little while, that wasn't my main occupation, especially when my coworker whacked out and pulled a butcher knife on me; he never got the chance to do that again, but I decided I didn't want to be a butcher...

Congratulations @jamerussell! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 comments. Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

What a beautiful tribute and great selection of his arts!

I can see the emotion and the beauty behind all of those paintings!

Thank you @macchiata, he put his heart and soul into these paintings...

gasss full, no matter how the wind blows, much love, nice art

It definitely is @ayjoe!

Wow. @jamerussell, you have outdone yourself with this one. What a beautifully written memorial.
Ren

Thank you @heyhaveyamet, I have a lot of feelings for this particular artist and his family, just wish that in all those years of riding I had been able to meet him...

I love the artwork - so much fun! Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @viking-ventures! It was my pleasure to share it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29