Kite from .Hack Anime Series Fan Art [Process Drawing]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

kite-header.jpg

Here's a new drawing from the protagonist of the .hack video game series on the PlayStation, the avatar Kite. I have never actually played any of the games, but I did read the manga .hack//Legend of the Twilight and enjoyed it very much. Kite was one of the legendary avatar skins based on his heroic deeds from a previous generation.

The Wire Frame

Kite-Wires.jpg

My wire frame is composed of crude lines and shapes. I tried to angle his shoulders in a way that was not just straight from the front. He's hunched over a bit, too. I'm no martial art expert, so I cannot be sure if a pose like this is even an effective battle stance in real combat.

The Sketch

Kite-Sketch.jpg

I don't draw this character very often, so I had to use a lot of references to make sure that I draw his outfit correctly. There are a lot of details in the straps and buckles that I wanted to get right. He's an anime character, so of course everything has to be a little over the top, even to the point of being necessary.

The Line Art

Kite-Lineart.jpg

I was pretty satisfied with my sketch, which made it easy to trace over in black using the G-Pen in Clip Studio Paint. I don't always do this, but for this line art I created a thicker border around his form. I can't describe why, but I really like the bold outline appearance. When I finished, I decided to fill in the straps and belts to help breakup the empty shapes. When I color this, I will not keep the black but instead fill it with the appropriate brown flat color.

The Flat Colors

Kite-Flats.jpg

I use Wacom's Mobilestudio Pro for my hardware and Clip Studio Paint for my software. With all of my years of creating art, this combo has been the best thing ever. The tablet allows me to zoom, rotate, and draw using the fluid movements of my hand and pro pen. The program is very quick to load and responsive. I can illustrate at extremely high resolutions without sacrificing performance. That's something I cannot do using Adobe Photoshop.

The Finished Illustration

Kite-Final.jpg

I used simply cel-style shading for this one to keep with that anime look. I didn't blend any of my shadow lines or use any soft brushes. For the background, I layered several different shapes and textures to create that cool digital foundry. He is in a video game, after all. The hexagonal design seemed appropriate for the programmed and calculated atmosphere that is "The World".

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

Great job @jamesartville! The pose is pretty cool and I love his eye for some reason! It really stands out to me :)

Thanks for noticing the details!

You are very welcome @jamesartville :)

Hey, @jamesartville.

I'd say for a character you don't draw often, it turned out great. I'm not a marital arts expert either, but anime doesn't normally go for reality, anyway, so the stance works. The details are great, so is the color and the blending. I can see that mobilestudio pro really allows you to move in and around at a great pace if you so desire.

I meant to ask the last time I commented whether or not you do more than just character art, like sequential art, mainly comic book format or the like. You mention you've been at this for years, so I imagine you must do this professionally, especially with the equipment you have. But I'm also guessing you're doing more than just fan art requests. :)

I am a graphic designer first and foremost, with digital art on the side. I have illustrated several children's books and a graphic novel as well. It is my hope to someday become a full time artist and publish my own comics and stories.

Thanks!

Okay, graphic designer. Seems like that's what a lot of people are. Pays the bills. :) Well, for what it's worth, I think you have the talent to go full time. What you need is the break, and it looks like you're doing what you can to make that happen.

I've been interested in publishing my own comics since I was probably 12. Except, I'm not an artist, but more of a writer. Lots of ideas, just how to make it profitable is the ongoing mystery.

It seems to me though that if you can draw like you can, it's a tad easier to get the ball rolling, once you have general concepts and some individual story ideas. I don't know. Maybe not. My thought is, if you don't have to hire someone to draw your book, because you can do it yourself, that's better, especially in the beginning. :)

Thank you very much for the encouraging words.

so cool ! Love the pose so much, and the character's expression is nicely done too :) great and clean inking and colouring, as per your style, too <3 <3 <3 wonderful picture !

I appreciate the compliment. Thanks so much!

wow perfectly done, possible to get a tutorial on how to become this good

I would like to start uploading time-lapse videos. I am in the process of choosing a good screen recording program.

UPDATE: Hi @jamesartville this post has been featured in Exponential! C² Featured Posts, a daily publication of the @c-cubed blog. Check it out :)
https://steemit.com/curation/@c-cubed/20181006t225901063z


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34