The Gift of Art | Honoring the Fear Family with Romantic IllustrationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

Fear-Couple-Header.jpg

Gift giving is one of my primary love languages, and I have been known to use my creative talents to give the gift of art! This was the case years ago when I illustrated some close friends of mine to honor their friendship and their marriage. They are the Fear Family (yes, that's their last name) and my children and theirs are best of friends. As a husband and wife duo, they really set a good example of companionship, love, and respect.

The Sketch

Fear-Couple-Sketch.jpg

This drawing conveys several things about this unique couple. First, they are pretty traditional and humble. The husband is chivalrous and would lay down his life for his wife, or lift her high and support her in every way. The way they are looking into each other's eyes proves that they only have eyes for each other. Lastly, the wife's bare feet is actually her personal preference and shows her free-spirit nature.

The Line Art

Fear-Couple-Lineart.jpg

When illustrating this one, I was still rather new to using my Wacom Bamboo tablet and Corel Painter Essentials. I takes a while to get used to moving your hand to the side while looking straight ahead at the screen. I feel like this made it difficult to draw as well as I do today, where I could draw directly on my screen using the Wacom Mobilestudio Pro. Evidence of my difficulty at the time can be seen with the proportions and shape of their hands and feet.

The Flat Colors

Fear-Couple-Colors.jpg

The colors I chose for their clothes are pretty accurate to some of the attire they wore at the time. As a mater of fact, I actually designed the graphics for the husband's shirt, which I made for the company that he and I both worked for at the time. I would render that logo in the final stages of the illustration.

The Finished Illustration

Fear-Couple-Final.jpg

Unlike most of my other illustrations, I did not use hard lines for my cel-style shading. I used Corel's soft brushes and blending tools to give this a softer look. I also colored the line art (referred at as color holds) but left the outer edge black. I honestly couldn't come up with something good for the background, so I left it blank. I don't normally leave my figures standing in emptiness, but I didn't want anything to distract the focus of these two love birds.

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

What a lovely illustration. I like that you talk about details that characterize the family and that you used them (such as clothes, bare feet, etc.. )

Your drawing is very very very nice. You did a great job with their expression. I can see that they love each other. I also enjoy the way he is holding her. Like she was the most precious jewel that he has :)

Romantic, delicate, a beautiful moment.. well done!

Thank you for sharing and have a great weekend!

Your feedback is appreciated. I'm glad you took the time to read the descriptions of each image. Thanks!

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86