I don’t normally do these, but I’ve been wanting to draw him.

in #art6 years ago

I don’t normally do these, but I’ve been wanting to draw him.



Greetings fellow Steemians,

Like I mentioned in the title, that even though I typically don’t draw or paint celebrities, I thought I’d take a break from my usual routine and draw one of my favorite, as what I would consider to be a modern day representation of the superhuman/hero archetype of man, the character Ron Swanson (a.k.a. Nick Offerman)

I decided to do this drawing in graphite and in my tiny sketchbook my little brother brought back for me when he was in Italy.


I’ve always thought that he has illustrated very well on the popular show Parks and Recreation, the epitome of what it means to be a man.


Other great examples such as…

Worf, from Star Trek:


Commander Sisko from Star Trek DS9:


..And even Walter White (Heisenberg) from Breaking Bad:


...I feel are great idealized personas in which inspired me to draw Ron Swanson in the first place.

What I have found to be a common occurrence within the lives of these warriors is that while they can be rejected, shunned, or even ostracized by those whom they love; their inner convictions and strength guide them forward in the pursuit of truth. They never let others or external circumstances waver their path towards sacrificing what they are for what they COULD BE!


It is this attitude I believe to be synonymous with the perspective towards working to be a better artist.

It is for these reasons as to why I have felt very inspired by drawing this portrait.


Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

EMAIL: [email protected]

Instagram

Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

It's cool that you spent a little time on something that you wouldn't normally do!

Anything that shakes us out of our comfort-zone flavoured reverie can reinvigorate us for the next challenge. Also it's nice to keep 'em guessing isn't it? It can also help us to not get stale and jaded or too comfortable in our own skin.

I would love to have your skill with the mediums you use alas the only material I can mould is words. I'm pretty glad they are free though as I go through a lot and would be constantly found in an art-store with a wheelbarrow stocking up on more.

However I do love to scroll through the body of work at our disposal here on the blockchain...We have a wonderful selection of magnificent artists and creatives ever close at hand. The community is growing exponentially.

I'm truly happy to have stumbled across your work, you are incredibly talented, I truly look forward to seeing you evolve.

Take great care, awesome to have met you. Keep producing the awesomeness 😃

Thank you, yeah it took me quite some time to mull over on the idea of drawing and painting celebrities.
For the most part I've refrained from doing them because on a long term scale it's actually a cheap and lazy maneuver for a painter/artist. There's too much risk in having your work turn into a sterile commodity.

But like I mentioned earlier, for the most part what it represents has motivated me to push forward.

Likewise man! I really appreciate the vote of confidence and the support :)

You got a 20.58% upvote from @whalecreator courtesy of @jameszenartist! Delegate your Steem Power to earn 100% payouts.

You have made nice graphite capture of Ron Swanson character. He has an awesome angry look there in your drawing! Nice work, @jameszenartist.

@zorank Thank you so much! Him smiling out of context just doesn't quite cut it huh? ;D

Well, you deserve a thumbs up :-) I really like your perception. Wonderful work, Mate .

Thank you so much! ;)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

good job... time for me to work on some portraits again too!

i do a lot of arts too, check my works by the way if you are interested :)

PEACE
-edga NOWARGraffitis

Thank you so much! I personally don't do enough of them ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jameszenartist from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 12.61% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @jameszenartist!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 4.24% upvote!
I was summoned by @jameszenartist. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You got a 11.07% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @jameszenartist!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75