Elephant Study on Linen Panel. Oil Painting Step By Step

in #art5 years ago

As promised, I will show you how I created the small elephant study on a linen panel.

linen studies 3 easel.jpg

As I mentioned previously in this blog :

https://steemit.com/art/@jankasparec/rhino-oil-study-on-linen-panel-un-primed-surface

...what is a first timer for me here is the fact that the surface in unprimed and I eft it in the background without painting over it.

This is how I proceeded with this elephant painting

:

IMG_0386.jpg

As you can see, the elephant was more zoomed out in the beginning, showing the whole body

IMG_0388.jpg

But then I changed my mind and decided to zoom it in a bit. After all the panel is only 8 inches tall

IMG_0389.jpg

IMG_0390.jpg

IMG_0415.jpg

IMG_0418.jpg

altogether it was around 2-3 hours of work

And this is how these boys look together, all 3 of them!

linen studies 3 easel.jpg

I hope you liked the process!

Maybe you can try to do your own elephant?

Thank you for reading and for your support!

Much Love to all,

Jan

follow @jankasparec

P.S.: Remember to be diligent. The difference between Buddhas and ordinary people is Diligence.

hanes boy wall 5.jpg

Sort:  

Really nice work! Wish I had just a little when it comes to paint and other mediums. Keep up the good work!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Gosh! I remember the Rhino and the Lion and now the elephant has joined up ! All three are so beautiful * __ * You know, when I look at your artworks, I feel as if I can sense the animal spirits from your portraits, there is something that you captured through your relationship with nature and the wilderness that are translated into these pieces, I think, Jan....

For example, I think, I've told you that I felt nobility from the Rhino, a kind of usually unseen majesty, which is often unseen from this animal that unfortunately most people associate with trophy hunting prizes :( But through your portrait, I feel the Rhino's noble spirit !

The lion looks thoughtful, and I remember you were feeling a bit low when you drew this and that the lion helped your spirits recover. I can sense quiet strength from this portrait of the king of the jungle, for sure...

And the elephant ! I feel there is a striding energy here, a kind of motion towards the future :) Maybe I'm reading too much as I look at each of your works? Hahahaha~

They are very beautiful, Jan. I love these :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99