My First Watercolour Sketches Since Childhood

in #art5 years ago

After 30 years break, I’m venturing again in the arena of watercolours!

2AE0AE53-AC0A-4818-A732-556BAC062FA6.jpeg

This is actually a sketch for my new large oil painting

To be honest I don’t understand how I could stay away from it for so long. Watercolours is such a magical medium. I am definitely planning to stay with at least 1 or 2 sketches a week.

So far I don’t even have proper set of paints or brushes so my palette is quite limited and delivery quite rough but that’s what I like the most about it: the fast delivery and extravagant “carelessness” about “perfectionism” tendencies that I do tend towards in my oil paintings.

Here are a few quick scribbles from last week. About 20-40min each

I’m posting it from my phone so I do apologize if the images are not rotated correctly. I have no idea how to repair this recurrent issue while posing on a phone.

CA0546D2-4790-4971-BD9C-558ED4A6E0AF.jpeg

0653619A-45E6-4AA8-89D1-1AA185E34AFA.jpeg

9B50C8F9-0350-4A7E-813B-7308B46C0BCD.jpeg

One more sketch of a girl

:

0208705F-AAA6-47CC-A307-D9469AAF63A4.jpeg

And a praying woman receiving a blessing

:

79302470-66AD-493B-A1EA-EF697A691FDB.jpeg

7FFF6B74-FCE7-4F65-87A8-09D0DB57C7AC.jpeg

I hope this attempt did not terrify you too much 😊🤷🏻‍♂️

Let me know if you’re not too scared to see more! 🙏🏻

Thank you for your support,

Much Love to All,

Jan

Follow @jankasparec

779477D0-EBAA-4242-8261-EFAA53637618.jpeg

Sort:  

Wow, I love these, Jan ! I can totally see the benefits of you using watercolours as medium of 'sketching' colours out before you take the idea onto oils :)

Even as 'sketches' you show off such great understanding of colour balance and relationship between the hues! I love also the way your strokes seem fluid and done in swift, free, natural motions :D

Is that last photo a sneak preview of your upcoming painting????

I'm definitely excited to see more ! Watercolour sketches AND your beautiful oils * ___ * !!!!

You flatter me too much @veryspider ! 🙏🏻❤️ The first watercolour is the sketch for my next big oil which is in the last picture with my face 😀 thank youuuuui

Very beautiful your watercolor sketches. Pinned on my board :-)

Let's pin a few Czech Lagers on our board soon bruder!

Your messy sketchy watercolours are way better than my "trying to pretend I'm good" attempts were :D And some things look better sketchy anyway XD

The rotation issues with phones either have to be fixed on your end by running them through a program like Gimp or Photoshop (you shouldn't have to do anything more than open your photo and then save it, but if you're posting on your phone that might be tricky XD) or on the server end by not stripping the orientation flag (I don't know how easy or hard this is, was a bit challenging when I was investigating this issue on my blog but in fairness as I'm the only one using it I didn't try that hard).

Thanks bro. Yeah I know, on my pc it's super easy, and I very rarely post from my phone. Yesterday was an exception since I was chilling on the beach with not much to do :) But I did figure it out in the end, just edit it in the iphone photos viewer (rotate). problem is that they're showing as in the good position and once you post it it shows different rotation, so it's time costly to do it all over again couple times till you nail it.

Phone cameras (possibly all digital cameras, I'm not sure there) do rotation by setting an exif flag. Most websites strip all exif data when you upload, so there goes the correct rotation :< When you're doing it on your computer and you pass it through Photoshop or whatever, it does an actual rotation rather than using a flag.

There's probably a way to tell the server to strip everything but orientation flags but...I've been too lazy to figure that one out, perhaps other webmonkeys are the same XD

Excellent to see this! Both of us took 30 year breaks ;)

It really is a magical medium & it looks like you haven't lost your touch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71