Artwork of the Day - Leap of Faith

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Today's featured painting is 'Leap of Faith', an original abstract artwork completed 04/03/2011:

leapoffaith.jpg
'Leap of Faith' by Jay Taylor. Acrylics, acrylic mediums and collaged materials on 18” x 24” box canvas.


Human Evolution Requires A Leap of Faith

“The evolutionary process of mankind rests now upon the taking of an extraordinary leap of faith: a revolutionary act of daring; an undertaking to make possible the seemingly impossible. This act will ultimately liberate the individual, the species and all sentient lifeforms from our current state of bondage due to self-imposed limitations, forever and ever henceforth…” - The inspired words which accompanied the creation of this painting.

The Model Imperative

Human beings require what anthropologists and those who study psychology and child development refer to as a 'model' for behaviour. This 'model imperative' shapes our early development in ways which reach far into the future, programming us with behavioural, emotional, mental and physical response-sets which lie below the level of our conscious awareness.

Even those who seek to identify these patterned responses have little concept of how powerful and deeply entrenched they are. At every step, in every moment, this operating system is at play in our lives at every level. From the conscious through the subconscious, unconscious and even the atomic and autonomic levels, they permeate everything that we are and everything that we do.

leapoffaith-wall-5.jpg

A Leap Into the Unknown

Many of us face moments in life where some inner urge drives us to take a leap into the unknown - to take, for the first time, an action which we have never personally had modelled for us. Those at the 'frontline' of innovation likely will face such moments frequently.

If humanity is to survive, it will become necessary for us collectively to rise above our current models. We need to break free from the patterns of thought and behaviour which our existing cultural and societal models have given to us as our baseline. All of our current models are defective to some degree or other. If you don't believe me, take an honest look around. We literally have no human model for behaviour, feeling or thinking which is truly life-serving. All we see is in the service of destruction, more or less.

*We have no idea what we truly are. and therefore no idea what we might become. That particular discovery will require an extraordinary, unprecedented 'leap of faith' - a leap into the unknown; an open, courageous, deprogrammed act of rising above that which constrains us...

leapoffaith-wall-3.jpg


Don't Shoot the Messenger


When I paint, there is not a thought in my mind, not a concept on my head nor an intent or volition other than to create. And so it is with these words. I open myself as a channel for whatever wants to come through. I write, or type, with a completely open mind. The words flow to page or screen. I edit for typos. That's it. There is a looking, a seeing, just as with my painting process. And then I release whatever has come through 'into the wild'. Take from it what you will, or leave it behind. Tell me how you feel, if you feel moved to, or not, if you don't. Either way I play my part, but I'm the messenger, the finger pointing at the moon, and the messages received are me 'talking to myself' as much as anything...

leapoffaith-wall-jay.jpg


If you've fallen in love with this painting...

...you might be interested to know that I have made it available for sale in my store on Etsy. I'm also happy to sell direct - payment accepted via PayPal or, of course, in Steem!


'Leap of Faith' is also available on 50+ print on demand products including clothing, homewares and device cases. Click here to find out more.

Screen Shot 2018-05-12 at 22.59.47.png


I hope you've enjoyed this post. As an independent, self-financing creative, and radically unschooling Mama, your support, kind-ness, and appreciation of my always-original content are most welcome! Please feel free to comment, upvote, Resteem or otherwise share this post if you feel called to do so.

With love,

Jay x


Click here to get more Upvotes by registering with SteemFollower

Sort:  

I really liked how you transformed the picture for the dress! I would like to have this in the wardrobe!
And I have a classic drawing today, come to visit )

It does look pretty amazing on the dress, I agree :o) Thank you for stopping by!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77