Everything Is Love, Or A Call For Love

in #art5 years ago (edited)

acallforlove.jpg
'A Call for Love', completed 23/11/2018, acrylics, acrylic inks and gel pens on A3 heavyweight mixed media paper.

When now-17-year-old Raven was a newborn, I spent our nap times reading 'A Course in Miracles'. It was a very positive and uplifting experience despite the Christo-religious framing of its messages (as I read, I crossed out the words 'Jesus' and 'God' and replaced them with the words 'Life' or 'The Universe'!) Many miraculous events occurred while I was studying it, including a fantastically mind-boggling Spontaneous Healing Incident. These deepened my burgeoning sense of spirituality and re-opened my heart to the possibility of miracles, healing and acceptance of myself.

Of all of the content in ACIM, the words which resonated most deeply with me back then were these -

"Everything is love or a call for love."

PB290011.jpg

"Everything is love, or a call for love."

I am resonating to these words more than ever as I mull the modern disease of looking for love, yet so often pushing it away. I see how unconscious, dysfunctional behaviours stem from the largely unmet need to be unconditionally loved and accepted for who we are. It is a conundrum of 'civilisation' that it creates so many attachment disorders, which in turn go on to cause destructive and divisive behaviours in the unfortunate children who develop them. The tools our parents were given with which to nurture us so often lead to a Great Divide forming between them and us, their offspring.

For a while now I've been doing 'inner child' work to release the 'expectation of rejection' which has haunted me for as long as I can remember. I can feel my inner child - her anger, her pain, her sense of injustice, her railing against the unfairness of being branded 'difficult', 'defiant', 'troubled' - beginning to soften into the understanding that yes, everything is love or a call for love. She's starting to trust that I love her regardless of what anyone else thinks: that she is loved now as she was not loved then. I begin to see how impossible it was for her to make sense of her mother's rejection and criticism, the bullying, the controlling, the blaming and shaming, the punishments and the ostracisation. And I begin to feel that it's entirely probable that my mother experienced similarly unloving parenting which made her capable of and given to such behaviour.

Pain is passed from one generation to the next until someone is willing to feel it and heal it. This process takes not just awareness but courage, determination and perseverance. Anyone who tells a trauma survivor to 'just get over it', or to 'forgive and forget', does not understand the effect trauma has on brain development and cognition, much less of the heartbreak survivors live with every day...

acallforlove-detail.jpg

"Our deepest wound births the pattern we will repeat most often. Find, face and heal the wound, and the pattern will be released." - Jay Taylor

The process of fitting us to the society into which we are born has a lot to answer for, and as well as forgiving and/or understanding, it is our job right now to hold this process to task - to face it bravely, informed by our bone-deep experience, and leave it behind as we stride on fearlessly towards our goal of replacing it with something new and life-serving.

And so my heart is beginning to allow the possibility of feeling empathy for the woman whose behaviour caused me so much pain. This is very different from 'ought to', 'should be able to', or 'it is all in the past - move on...'

I begin to understand that when she called my baby body forth from the aether, my mother, too, was calling out for love - a type of love that she was not able to elicit or model; a kind of love which her behaviour towards me actually made impossible. I begin to consider accepting that this was our fate; that there is an opportunity to extract and cultivate new and positive meaning from our shared experience; that, in fact, this process is already unfolding.

As I lay with my own child, reading 'A Course In Miracles', my newly-activated maternal instincts forming a shield of unconditional love, this knowledge began to proliferate in my awareness. My 'rebellious', feisty nature, borne of the lifelong core conflict between my mother and me, began to take an accounting of itself. 17 years later, this life-changing process continues to work its way through my system, still driving me to seek out the truth, bringing wave after wave of new insight.

Humanity is evolving, and I am evolving, too. All over the world, our experiences are mirroring each other. There are more of us awakening to this realisation every day. It's a truly global phenomenon.

We are living through the beginning of the end. The current paradigm is not sustainable, just as my mother's relationship with me - and ultimately with her own existence - was not sustainable. This cruel world is beginning to fall apart, to face its own dysfunction in ways which will transform or kill it. Those of us who feel will this suffer accordingly, but our suffering and insight are driving us to create (and experience) something radically new - a new way of life for ourselves and our offspring.

acallforlove-detail-2.jpg

Everything is love or a call for love.

All the hurt and pain and anger I carried for so long is birthing a new me - a version of me who is more capable of loving and being loved than ever before. Bringing trauma to the light allows its shadows to be cast out, or to be enjoyed for their own beauty, or to be played with, danced with, LOVED.

"That which divides must be abandoned in favour of that which unites" - Jay Taylor

Do you hear the Call?

With love,

Jay xx

'A Call For Love' is available to art investors worldwide via my online shop at www.jaytaylor.store. Please let me know by commenting below if you'd like to purchase using Steem or BTC and we can make the necessary arrangements.

acallforlove.jpg


I hope you've enjoyed this post. As an independent, self-financing creative, and radically unschooling Mama, your support, kind-ness, and appreciation of my always-original content are most welcome! Please feel free to comment, upvote, Resteem or otherwise share this post if you feel called to do so.


Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This painting is gorgeous and the post was a good read! I have included this post in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Thank you very much indeed, Julia - I'm honoured and grateful <3 xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70