Sad / Process Illustration / Step by Step + VIDEO

in #art5 years ago

Hey, how about all Steemit people? I have returned from a short, short break, bringing you the first illustration of the year!


Before starting...

First of all I know that these last weeks I have not been active, all this due to the blockage and artistic frustration that I have gone through. I know it's not the first nor the last (I've been through worse) so I've known little by little how to deal with it to pass the time.


I will never give an explanation of its origin since I do not know it, but what makes me clear is the nonconformity that artists often face, not value the work they produce and often reject proposals for future opportunities (for very large or small) that they are) for the simple fact of not feeling sufficiently "safe" to be able to do it, to fear the typical "what will they say about me?".


This is what happened, feeling like an artist without progress was little, my biggest mistake is to compare myself with other artists with a greater trajectory and much more audience in networks, with genuine interactions and praise, but the truth is, do I seek approval of others to know that my work is good enough ?, I would say earlier that yes, now it has been more than clear that I was in the wrong, there is nothing more genuine than believing in yourself, value yourself and obviate the numbers in social networks, do followers show if I'm better and artist, of course not? We are all a different world and the only thing that should matter is to give your best and love what you do.

After this strange preamble we can continue with the process of illustration!


In the first phase simply use common graphite pencil to make the sketch. Then I implemented watercolors in it, with blue tones and giving it more intensity by means of the superposition of layers I gave volume to the character through shadows.


VIDEO


Then with red, gray and blue tones add some points on the face of the character, likewise mixing green intensify some areas, add a first layer of eyebrows and beard and intensify details in the eyes.


Finally add some blank lighting, in different areas of the face, make a lineart by the hair and neck, leaving that part without color, showing the details that has the face.


And done!

 

If you want to see more of my work, follow me on INSTAGRAM



Sort:  

Te quedó estupendo tu dibujo. Bienvenido de nuevo.

muchas gracias!!

Congratulations @jeanstevenn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 comments. Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

so nice, but you need more practice

Increible pintura.

muchas gracias amigo!

I think I commented on the spanish version... But anyway! I like it, you have made an expressive drawing :) Good work~

aaa thank u so much for your comments!! <3


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 41. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Thanks for sharing this wonderful artwork of yours..Surely thrilled to get the experience of your work...Will be looking for more extraordinary pieces from you....😍😍

Very interesting portrait work, @jeanstevenn!

PS: I've find your post because @muhtasim-zawad featured you in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

I'd like to invite you to participate in My Art Curation Initiative #7

Nice job @jeanstevenn. There is only one person to paint for.... yourself. The one thing I find sad about it is me personally, I am very critical of anything that I do. I feel others are just giving me a fluff job to make me feel better. Then I do have to remind myself, everyone sees something other than you. You may hate it but 100 people will like it.

You were featured in week 41 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation contest by @muhtasim-zawad

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94