Painting a mural for a supermarket conference room

in #art6 years ago (edited)

P1010025 22 2.jpg

A quick run through on the process for creating a mural for a Woolworths supermarket conference room. I'll be sharing the second mural I worked on for them in the coming weeks.
.
.
.
IMAG0085 2.jpg

A blank canvas, This part is a little daunting. Although not always necessary, I applied two coats of white primer to the wall with a paint roller. The wall was a pretty dark blue and light colours would have required many coats.
.
.
.

P1010001 2 1.jpg

Majority of the foundations and base colours are done at this point. I'm midway painting the kookaburra and have my concept sketch handy for reference. The concept sketch had already been approved.
.
.
.
P1010005 1.jpg

Painting some red onions. I've masked off some areas to help with clean edges. The white outlines here are where I painted cane grass leaves over the red onions.
.
.
.

P1010004 2.jpg

This part was pretty tedious, There was lots of blending and shading in the fruit. Overall I realized I had maybe used way too many gradients in the design, it was tricky and time consuming to get clean gradient transitions.
.
.
.

IMAG0120 2 222.jpg

P1010025 2.jpg

The general idea was to create something that resembled the town and the supermarket. The sugar mill in the background, the beach and a barrel of Bundaberg Rum!

Thanks for looking.

Sort:  

Jeremy, that is one awesome mural. I'm actually surprised someone in Woolworths management decided to have this at their conference, which means not all of them are soulless suits lol.  
                       
Lovely bird, I like how you drew the wings a lot. So graceful :).      
                       

Haha yes. The regional manager and manager especially seemed pretty excited about it. The only rules were no offensive content! Thank you!

I think this is an amazing piece of art! I like that you work multiple thoughts into the one theme, as is appropriate for a supermarket.

I found your post from @trincowski's Pay it Forward curation contest entry. Keep up the great work!

Awesome, thank you for the kind words!

Congratulations @jeremyrfk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Amazing work!

Being able to make murals legally is a dream job of so many!! :)

I would love to have meetings in such a meeting room! Well done! :)

Thank you very much! it is extremely challenging but rewarding.

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
kv0yo4panu.jpg

Wow thank you!

Great work! Found you thanks to @trincowsky and the @pifc contest!

Awesome! Thanks for checking out my work!

That looks good! Excellent work! :-)

Thanks man!

I'm popping in again to let you know I've featured your post in My Entry for the Pay It Forward Contest. May new followers come your way!

Excellent artwork! 👍😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86