Painting murals at the beach, walkthrough.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

A quick process of painting murals at my local beach some time ago.

P1010306 2 Miller St 22 2 3.jpg

P1010230 2.jpg

The first pump station! Not a bad view, too! The canvas has been sanded back and prepped with primer and a light tint of blue. Tinting the primer can be useful in avoiding multiple re-coats of paint if you tint your primer with your background colour.



P1010239 2.jpg

Making progress here. You can see I've added some grids to the canvas. Overall it probably took longer doing it this way but there was more accuracy in replicating my original concept. The concept had already been approved by the council and local residents, I use it as my reference throughout the project.



P1010254 2.jpg

P1010245 Whalley st.jpg

Finished! This project was all about appreciation of our local area, its inhabitants, the history and fauna. I've used a bird (brown footed booby) as the main star in this piece, a possum and what looks to be an unmanned aircraft which is intended to be Bert Hinkler in his early days of aviation.



Pump station #2
P1010258 2.jpg

I had made the mistake of using regular masking tape. If you're going to use tape for your project, especially in the sun, be sure to buy the painters blue/bear tape as it is designed to last long periods of time without deteriorating and permanently sticking to your surface.



P1010277 22 Miller St.jpg
The back of the pump station.



P1010306 2 Miller St 2.jpg

Finished! I decided to run with the White Bellied Sea eagle gliding above a golf course. Not seen in the picture is a golf course in the background and the beach 20 meters away.



P1010301 2 Sandhill 2 3.jpg

The final mural I worked on. There were 9 in total and two other artists each working on 3 pump stations each. Looking forward to posting some new work soon, I've got several projects on the fly that I need to get finished.

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

wish that I could see such beautiful murals like you did here around my place, Luv the blue pump stations murals.. all of it, but I think that white bellied eagle and the golf course is the best one. Awesome! I found your post through @delishtreats entry post in the pay it forward contest this week @jeremyrfk, good luck and keep steem it on!

Thanks for checking out my work @cicisaja : )

Beautiful work, Jeremy! Those boxes look so much better now! :-)

Thanks mate

Wow! Another one of your awesome mural arts, Jeremy.
                       
I love that brown footed booby one, the look is just so dorky and adorable. And the plane and the possum .... and that really lovely shades of blue <3333. I really love how you made the blue variation in your murals, in my mind, they speak to me of good and wonderful feelings :D.        
                       
The others are also awesome, but I don't want to write an essay for a comment, so just multiply that one several times over XD.

haha thanks @scrawly. They really are a strange looking bird, It's feet aren't even brown.

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
uk12rfki7y.jpg

These murals are beautiful Jeremy! You are very talented! I have featured you in my entry for Pay It Forward Curation Contest held by @pifc. You can check my entry here: https://steemit.com/payitforward/@delishtreats/week-27-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

Have a great weekend!

That's awesome!! Thank you for featuring my work!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Great murals and great project to add a little beauty to an otherwise everyday item on the beach. There is a local project here to paint the utility boxes around town. I will have to stop and take more photos :)

Thanks Steven! i'll check it out.

Oh man, what amazing work ! Sometimes i see those electrical boxes or service stations done in murals around Melbourne, also and I've always wondered how they came to be.... This post kind of answered part of that mystery XD

Love it, @jeremyrfk !!! :D

Thanks! I know it varies but in this particular case it took a lot of convincing and paperwork to get the council on board and funding sorted for the project. I think in Brisbane people can volunteer to paint the electrical boxes.

seriously wonderful stuff!

hope you keep brightening the lives of your community for many years. peace.

Thank you! we got a lot of positive feedback, it was great chatting to the locals as they passed by and checked it out!

Jeremy you color the world a bit more beautifull you can be the New Banksi!
Thanks for a great blog, blog on I say!
Found your blog through the @pifc and I love that you were nominated .
Have a great weekend and See you next time

Thank you for checking out my work @brittandjosie!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81