Phone Call From a StrangersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago


A male voice said he was calling from San Diego: " My name is Thomas Aguilar and I'm trying to find an artist named John Michael Keating. I am hoping you might be him."

"That is my name and I am a painter. Years ago I used to live in San Diego. Why are you trying to find this person?"

He explained that he was a volunteer worker in a thrift store and that he had discovered an unusual painting. "We get a lot of amateur stuff donated here, paintings of mountains and sunsets and paintings of dogs and cats, but never artwork of such high quality as this one. So I was curious. I found the name of the artist written on the back." Then he added, "the painting shows the reflection of a man in a blue sweater looking into a store window." Then I knew Mr. Aguilar had found the artist he was looking for.

Had this been a scene in a film or a novel, there would be a flashback at this point. I would have been whirled more than twenty years back into the past to recall many memories, all beautiful, of the portrait and of the man who had commissioned me to paint it. The truth, however, was not so simple: Yes, I remembered the portrait, but very little of the subject.

Mannequin - Acrylic/Masonite - 24 x 29 inches

In appearance he looked as you see him in the painting, tall, handsome, athletic. He was always well-dressed and unfailingly polite. As I remember, he worked in real estate and lived alone. Other than that, I knew little about him, but I always felt relaxed and comfortable in his presence and sensed that he had a gentle soul.

Neither of us was interested in doing a traditional portrait. I suggested an ambiguous image, a street scene with tension between daylight and artificial light, glass surfaces that were simultaneously transparent and reflective. And for good measure why not include cars, shoppers passing by, a shoeless, homeless man sitting on the curb and an artist and model in a fashion shoot on the other side of the street? He loved the idea, and was delighted with the final result.

Mannequin - Detail

I was satisfied with the finished painting as well-- as a painting-- but as a portrait I sensed there was something missing. His likeness was accurate, which pleased him, but to me he was like a stencil, a blank slate. I imagined that perhaps the street scene and his gaze at the mannequin would reveal something about his character, his inner life. Maybe it did, at least to someone who knew him. But I wondered if perhaps I had introduced all the other elements into the painting to obscure the fact that I knew so little about him.

Thomas Aguilar's voice brought me back to the present. "The reason I'm calling you, Mr. Keating, is to ask if you might like to get your painting back. I never met the man in your portrait, but I can't bear to see him here in this thrift store. It's sad to think that no one who comes into this place will ever buy the painting, and I would hate to have it end up in a landfill."

I gave him my address and my thanks, but there was still something I didn't understand. Did he know, I asked, why the painting had ended up in the thrift store in the first place? "Our store was created during the AIDS epidemic for the benefit of men who die from it. Very often many of the possessions of the victims are of no interest to their families. So it's a guess, but I suppose that's what happened in this man's case."

Two weeks later the painting arrived at my studio. It's here still. But I wish it were instead in the home of someone in the man's family or in the home of a friend who had known him and who had loved and cared for him while he was still alive.




Original blog: https://johnmichaelkeating.com/2019/02/05/phone-call-from-a-stranger/
Sort:  

What a coincidence that the guy found you :) He is so nice to be looking for you so that he wouldn't have to destroy it.

I also like that you remember how it was when you painted in such a detail.

I'm sorry to hear that no one from his family wants to own this painting but I assume that there are some painful memories or unspoken old issues that holds them back from keeping it.

It's a lovely portrait, very original. I like your idea and it really looks like he was standing in front of the window. All these details of the busy street are so nicely done. It must have taken you ages to finish it..

Thank you for sharing and I hope that you will find a home for this old painting :)

Thanks for your perceptive comments, delishtreats. No, it didn't take me ages to finish the painting, but it certainly felt like it! And yes, I imagine there were some issues in his family that put the painting into the thrift store. Whatever the case, I hope the painting will find a home. The man portrayed certainly deserves it.

This post is devastating. What a surprising and powerful turn of events for such a rich portrait. I lived in San Diego for many years and I can see it here even though I do not quite recognize the setting.

It's interesting that you do not remember too many details about this man. And stunning that a thrift store worker would also be so moved. This is what art is all about. Thank you so much for sharing this story. I am so glad I got to see it.

Yes, art is supposed to be more than just colored marks on a canvas. It touches the hearts of the artist and of the subject and sometimes, if we're fortunate, the hearts of many other people. I'm happy that you enjoyed the post and grateful for your kind words. Many thanks.

I have the picture on my blog now and it moves me each time I see it :)

Howdy there jmkarworks! Very interesting story! It's pretty unusual for a thrift store employee to care enough to make that call and then to get the painting back after so many years is remarkable but I can see why it's return has some torn emotions. Very well written!

Thanks for the kind words, janton. Glad you enjoyed the story.

howdy again jmkartworks! you are very welcome, keep up the good work!

Hi jmkartworks,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @jmkartworks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That is a heartbreaking story. Just amazing.
The painting itself is gorgeous.
I think that with some elements of the back story it makes more sense now. The solitary man and it's contemplative, almost aloof countenance, as if looking at himself but not seeign himself in the reflection, as if looking at his surroundings, but as someone who does not belong or is welcomed...
It is a good thing that the painting can find its way back to its painter, though. It may also find its way intoa movie script. It would make a fine movie.

Thanks for the kind words, hlezama, and for your insightful analysis of the painting. And I also agree with you about the story making an interesting film.

Hello @jmkartworks, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hi! @jmkartworks. Your post has been upvoted by @celfmagazine, please consider supporting us to win a delegation of 20,000 STEEM POWER. You just have to follow the instructions below:

Go to the following link: https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/ login with your Steemit account and password and vote for @celfmagazine.

Your support it's very important for us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99