Portrait #2: "A Special Gift for My Nephew"

in #art6 years ago

Portrait is the best Gift to give


Before I will start with this very exciting article, I just want to greet all the proud artist in the world of steemit a good day. It was already a month ago after I have shared to all of you the first ever portrait I made intended for this community. I have been showed to you already the ste by step process of my portrait work and how it was been nicely. At this juncture, let me have this floor gain to share to you another beautiful portrait I made just this day. I was out for two days already because on the other we have a meeting with the parents of the classmate of my daughter at school and just yesterday, I did this another awesome art from me which I dedicated to my handsome nephew.

After knowing that his precious day will be this coming Monday, I think of something that I could give to him. Because of lack in money, I just decided to have a portrait for himself and I will frame it so that I will serve it as a gift to him. I find a picture of him in the facebook that will serve as my guide in my art. I didn't let his mother and father know beacuse I want to surprise them. This would be the greatest gift I could ever give to my nephew as he celebrate his 1st birthday.

IMG_20180707_110752.JPG

To start my portrait number 2, continue reading below.


Bringing you to the step by step process


Sketching Using Pencil. First thing as always in making portrait is to make a draft out of a pencil. I first sketch the layout of his face inorder to have a guide in starting the portrait. Immediately, started to shade the right eye using charcoal pencil and brush.

IMG_20180708_010624.JPG

Shading. This is the important ability an artist must obtain. Shading really plays an important role in doing a portrait. It makes a work more realistic and pleasant in the eye. So in my drawing, I started to shade in the eyes to attain the balance and harmony of the portrait.

IMG_20180708_010608.JPG

I then followed to sketch and shade the mouth properly and neatly.

IMG_20180708_010647.JPG

IMG_20180708_010636.JPG

Next was the ears and hair of him.

IMG_20180708_010907.JPG

I then outlined the dress properly. At first, it was very difficult for me because I have no white charcoal to use that will help in making the dress look realistic. I tried to have it with a chalk and I was so happy that I did it thoroughly.

IMG_20180708_010829.JPG

I then followed to sketch his body.

IMG_20180708_010852.JPG

After, I then go back to his hair. I was stopped for a moent because in the picture he doesn't have hair at the front so I think of what to do to make it beautiful still.

IMG_20180707_110939.JPG

Next, i finished everything in the head and emphasize properly the pigments of the hair.

IMG_20180707_110923.JPG

Lastly, I did some clearing and finished it nicely.

IMG_20180707_110752.JPG

This is the picture of my nephew. If you could notice, there is something different with my portrait compared to the picture. It is because I did some changes in my portrait because some of the parts were not properly detailed for me. So I did adjsutments that will still fit to my desired output.

InShot_20180708_013443332.jpg


This is always your artist, @johnartist

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24