Geisha Ribbons /// Original digital painting with process

in #art6 years ago

It's been a while since I have dived into a more complicated painting, but now that I am mostly getting comfortable with my new set up my inspiration is coming back full force :) I had been browsing instagram and came across a series of paintings of geishas that were very striking (all by different artists). The beauty of the hair/makeup/clothes really caught my imagination so here is my attempt at a Geisha in my style:

geisha_final.png

Below I have included a few process images...

Sketching stage:
geisha_sketch.png

A quick first layer of paint:
geisha_firstpaint.png

Here I ended chopping off some of that hair because it made no sense :D
geisha_morepaint.png

I very rarely draw flowers but I hand drew this one looking at a reference, I find these tricky but I'm pleased with how it came out:
geisha_flower.png

And here is a close-up:
geisha_crop.png

Final thoughts... it is not exactly what I had envisioned when I started, this is the interesting thing about the artistic process, it tends to take me in directions I didn't expect! It's kind of fun when a piece is finished and it surprises me though.

Sort:  

I recommend to watch your post on Steemit in "toggle night mode". I don't know why but your artworks look far more better...

Hmm must be the contrast thanks for the tip I'll give it a go!

beautifull art work!

So loverly. Geisha are good inspiration and you have done your's stunning.

I forget, is your new setup a wacom tablet and if so which one.

It's a huion kamvas 191, and yeah I need to do more geisha they are so beautiful!

I've never heard of that, I'll have to google it. Do you love it?

It's really beautiful the design you made, the flowers I love give you that touch of natural beauty that highlights your work, excellent work :D

Great painting, very vivid and enjoyable. It's striking how much it looks like analogue paint, too.

I loved! this work is really beautiful !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75