Possessed Faeries // Original digital painting and process // Entry for the @steemmonsters art contest

in #art6 years ago

I've been painting like a madman this week and I had an idea floating around to paint these alien/faerie creatures for the @steemmonsters art contest.

This isn't based on any card I've seen, more like an idea for a future card :)

Cropped version, scroll to the bottom for the full art
goblins_crop.png

I started with a sketch of course and played around with it until I felt they looked sufficiently mischievous... I especially like the little guy peeking out from behind :D

goblins_sketch.png

This is the fun part, painting! I am still having some troubles with my blending because photoshop doesn't have a clean blending brush (with no color) like the previous software I am used to using, but I am slowly getting used to how the blending brushes react.

goblins_noglow.png

Now for the final touches, I added some red glow to give them a pop and a floral type border :

goblins.png

I have yet to figure out the complete backstory for these guys yet, perhaps that will be for an upcoming post or if someone is feeling inspired and wants to write something related that would be super cool :D

Sort:  

Genuinely love this design. I'm curious about these two odd looking things. They could be good or evil. Looks both a little alien yet a little mythical too. Had no clue they had a contest going on, good luck!

Yeah I couldn't decide on alien/gnome/fairy they have kind of a mixed look, thank you :D

Very interesting drawing! Great job! 😃

Thank you so much!

Love it, and the idea=D
It was neat to see how you break it down in such a seemingly effortless way, but like you said, you've been painting a great deal this week. Flex those art muscles 💪

I haven't seen you around in a while :D Hope your doing well!

Yuss, lotsa schoolwork to be done😵
But its summer, so more music for me🎸

It would be a rare letter! I hope your idea is taken into account is great

Have you thought about making designs that are more like monsters or mythical creatures? I think that content if you would interest them for cards either way it's a good job

Well I think fairies are pretty mythical no? I can't really replicate the style of the artist that made the real cards lol I have my own thing going :D I suppose if they want it as a card the artist could use the idea as inspiration :)

hmmmm... thinking...

Ooooohhhh I love them!

YAY, I figured you might like these!

Oh my! I love them little creatures! Nice job :)

Thanks you jessica, how is the baby coming along? It must be coming imminently!

I love the idea of this character.. I haven´t seen possessed fairies yet. Maybe they were just normal lovely little fairies, dancing upon green hills, exploring a new cave, where they found the fountain of evil and unfortunately took a sip..?

Ooooh, that sounds like a good start, or maybe a witch cast a spell on them? lol thanks :)

They are simultaneously cute and scary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87