🖌 My Lisbon diary in pictures

in #art5 years ago



Several years ago, to be precise it was 2015 I took myself on Happy 43 birthday trip to Lisbon.
Since both of my parents aren't alive those birthdays as day of joy had their sadness part.
So, I made decision to go somewhere alone where there won't be things to remind me on their absence. Lisbon was the best choice.



On my 10 day trip I wondered town up and down, had some interesting contacts with some people and visited many great paces.
Each day after my stroll I would buy bottle of red wine, set on a terrace of my rented airbnb accommodation ,drank wine and made sketches of that days events and things that made biggest impact on me.

Bleja na Lisabonski means in my town slang - Quality doing nothing Lisbon's way
And here is me celebrating my birthday :)

bleja na lisabonski.jpg



This simple sketches were made during trip, and when I came home I made several better versions of them.
I am representing to you both versions.

DSCF9303.JPG



Buy a hat be a tourist - means everyone around me were wearing sun hats, and it's for no reason, sun was very strong, so I bought one for me too :)

DSCF9307.JPG



buy a hat be a tourist.jpg



And this was adventure, trapped in broken train with bunch of school kids for two hours..Madness..

DSCF9308.JPG



broken train.jpg



And if you complain to citizens of Lisbon, how it's hard going up and down whole day trough city, they just smile to you and say - It's good for legs :)

DSCF9305.JPG



good for legs.jpg

I love to go back in my memories from time to time to this wonderful journey I gave to myself.
And there is no better way to make something good to your body and soul, but to travel when ever you can.



Facebook
Instagram
Saatchi art

steemsign.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This is a great idea - a wonderful way to focus on the memories of a trip and solidify them in the mind for the rest of your life, too!

And it really goes to show that an investment in travel can be so much more important than spending money on more and more stuff.

I wish I could paint like this. I could create some pretty interesting scenes from my daily commutes.

O that would be some drawings I believe :) I can just imagine what you are facing every day on your travels.
Trains are special places :)

Wow, this is so different than your usual watercolours. These pieces are more illustrative and expressive? I can't really describe it well, but it's equally as charming as your graceful beauties. I really like these pictures, they are telling a lot of stories about your holiday in Lisbon, and I also feel they will make great companion to a story book ^_^.

Illustration is my great love, but never had chance to practice it or make something more ''serious'' work. Hope one day dream will come true like some children book :)
Thank you, it was really beautiful trip I will remember my whole life @scrawly.

I feel you with the celebrations... my father and a close friend are super ill and I do not want to celebrate without them. I am so afraid to loose them. While reading this, I want to hug you and take your pain away.....
Your illustrations (either the sketch and the more worked out) are so cute and pointy. I especially love the ‚hat‘ painting. The hair and the shadowed face and the brightness as a contrast... I love it.

Sorry to hear that. Losing someone close is hard, but somehow you learn to live with it, and they continue living inside of you.
Pain can't be lost over time, but somehow you find a place for it.
And about hat, I still have it but there was only time I wore it hahahah. I was carried away with atmosphere obviously :)

My favourite: 'Buy a hat and be a tourist.' The final painting really makes me want to take a holiday and just be like a 'tourist.' Even if only for a day. Taking a holiday just by ourselves is a wonderful thing to do. We become very open to new impressions.

I love the way at the end of the day, you 're-live' your day and allow the illustrations to come from memory. I hope one day you can fulfill your dream of creating children's books Dunja. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Yes, there is nothing like traveling alone sometimes. I love those moments when I learn so many new things about myself also. Like you have time for chat with your inner parts :)
Hope one day dream of illustration will happen.Thank you so much!

Really wonderful, @jungwatercolor * ___ * I love these types of travel diary since they seem to capture really personal and beautiful experiences through the expression of art ! What a creative and gorgeous post ! Looks like it was a memorable and eventful time, .... I can almost feel the discomfort that you experienced in that train ride through your illustration, and the long, winding, many roads that you walked through to feel the city :) and also the leisurely feeling of putting legs up to enjoy your time away with no pressure to do anything at all... * ___ *

An absolutely lovely post, Dunja <3 I love it very much <3

Thank you @veryspider, I also love them and that part of my life. Best money and time ever spend!

Love all of 'em! The train one made me laugh a lot heheheh

Yes, from this point is funny, but at those moments was like some bad SF movie part :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86