Analogue Katharsisdrill - the crow quill pen

in #art6 years ago


In the comments to this drawing, @arseniclullaby asked if I had used a crow quill pen, and I had to answer that it was all digital, as that is the media I am mainly using under the pseudonym, Katharsisdrill. I realised that I have actually never really done any serious drawings with quills, but always preferred the sable brush.

So as I recently realised that Moebius (Jean Giraud) made a lot of his drawings with pen (I have imitated him, but with a brush! as I thought that was how it was done), as @mikkolyytinen makes some beautiful drawings with quill pen, and as I love the drawings of the eighteen century artists - I have decided to learn to use it.


First problem: I realised that I had to have a small bottle for the ink. Normally I use something more flat for the brush as it bends and a glass for the water. But a pen needs a small bottle. Then I remembered that my wife had bought some old ink-bottles when she was in South Africa. A guy found them in old trash heaps and sold them cheap at a market. Probably late nineteenth, early twentieth century.


Paper no. 1 - I had a hard time getting the pen flowing, but after a while I got the hang of it.


Another page, just doodling.


I then made a pencil drawing -planning to ink it. But the small portable light table was in use (@scarlet-rain) so I forgot about it and started on something else.


A finished drawing. I have called it, Joulupukki, in honour of the pen master @mikkolyytinen.


Well... I have to work a bit on this thing, but it is actually more funny than I thought. The more or less fixed line width makes it necessary to cross-hatch a lot, but I guess that has its own charm.


The pens are courtesy of my daughter @scarlet-rain.

Sort:  

It looks like the pen is working great for you ,i've been in the digital world for a while too. It is a very particular sensation with the crowquill and there is whole world to different kind of nibs and holders for different effects to the line.

I need to get the hang of it, but it does work! I have played with the idea of making some analogue comic short stories using pen. My daughter loves manga and has a small variety of nibs I can experiment with (she is still mainly doing pencil drawings :)

caravan.jpg
Original source of caravan image pixabay.com
Drawing by katharsisdrill
bested viewed in full screen

HAHAHA, the perfect mental depiction of the Katharsisdrill project :) Thanks, mate!

Used to draw like this many years ago, but somehow I "forgot" about it. You produced some impressive results. Looks like its time I dig out my old tools too...

It is after all not entirely different from other drawing-media. I still need to get a bit more acquainted with it. Sometimes it stops flowing, I think because a tiny piece of the paper is stuck in the tip of the nib.

I have always loved the pen-drawings of the eighteen century artists. Here the Swedish sculptor, Sergel.

Firstly, wonderful and AMAZING drawing. Second, I mainly use digital now as well, but in the Summer I often break out the 'old media' more as I have more room and access to more things then.

I used to use a nib and dip pen system for many of my drawings. I even went through a luddite phase where I wrote letters with it and even kept my journal with these type of pens. I still do a bit in the summer.

It's great trying out new media (which is what digital was for me a few years back) and to keep playing with all of it. And here is another great example of Steemit inspiring we artists :)

Digital was so very fun in the beginning, still is, but not new and exiting any more. I might start doing some prints again. The technical part of the different techniques is inexhaustible .)

Very nice, the next to last photo is particularly effective. This is one of those photos I feel an urge to experiment with ;-)

You are more than welcome :)

Oh good, I'd love to play around with that ;-)

Hour later: I had fun, but I couldn't improve the original :-)

All hail analog media. I don't think I would ever buy a print made from digital as art for my walls. I prefer art that has been touched by the artist for display, but then, I'm old-fashioned when it comes to art.

It is two very different things, and I understand your inclination towards the handmade.

Digitial is basically a new form of repro, but to me there is a big difference between an arbitrary colour reproduction and one where the artist has been aware of each pixel. I have made original prints in off-set by creating each colour channel as a separate black/white image. One of the reasons I prefer to work in black and white is the same: that I can control everything except print method and paper type.

and one where the artist has been aware of each pixel

I get that. It's more about easy reproduceability and the artist's hand on the paper I bought that makes the difference for me.

I am in no way consistent in these things; I do own and buy signed wood and lino prints and etchings, and, more rarely, stone and screen prints, but never offset, laser, or inkjet prints. Consider this I must 8-).

To me the most important thing if it was made for that exact media. Comics for example are made for print.

That made me think of an example: I have a numbered and signed silk-screen print of a harbour scene drawn by the graphic novelist Ted Benoît; I would never have bought it had it been an offset print. I'm not entirely sure why not, to be honest.

Screen print is much better quality than offset. It has thicker colour layers and as it has a much lower resolution, so you have to make it work in other ways than just throwing halftones in it. This mean that the artist or at least a knowledgeable repro man has prepared it for the technique (here probably the artists himself.)

I have a lot of fantastic screen print artworks made by friends of mine. As an artistic media it has some special advantages that is very fascinating to work with. I have made lots of print in this technique.

Off-set is harder. In reality it is like lithography, which is the technique where you can get closest to the hand of the artist (that was clumsy) - but each little thing you do on the stone is recorded in high detail - it is one of my favourite methods. But even though the technique is the same and you actually can work directly on the plates, what you get in offset print is normally just a repro of a photo... and here we are pretty far away from the artist's hand.

I don't care for such things either.

I enjoyed your drawings, I haven’t drawn with actual Ink for years.

I enjoyed your book page poetry :)

wow i love your work

You have a lot of awesome posts, but this is
by far one of your best ones man.

I always respect your ideas about this platform....
This is so cool, I will always follow you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72