Illustrations for the professor Utagburuagu episode 3

in #art6 years ago

A couple of days ago I finished the illustration for episode 3 of @nevies' and my collaboration: the Professor Otagburuagu tales.

You can read the third instalment of the story here:

Professor Otagburuagu - Episode 3

(And go vote for Nevies of course :)

We meet in the @adsactly short-story contest, Nevies as writer and I as the illustrator. If you write or paint take a look at the next contest:

Steem Short Contest #7

Image 1

The short story consist of two scenes a motorcycle chase and a secret meeting in the corrupt Chief Olu Bayo house. The first one, the chase was pretty straight forward. I had an up close portrait of the protagonist, Inspector Raymond, as he try to outsmart the bikers and talk in the phone with his girlfriend Lucy.


I started drawing the ink lines right away. For the bikers I used some references of Nigerian motorcycle people. One of them with a predator helmet :)


Base colours. You can see that I have used the references as ground colours for the bikers.


Fast and dirty painting on top


I added a magenta layer on the outside to make some difference between the two enviroments.


The finished illustration after colour corrections.

Image 2


A very simple pencil drawing


The base colours. I wanted the scene to be otherworldly and expressionist. Like a scene from a David Lynch film. Almost too warm colours.


A middle stage. The Chief is looking like a greedy five year old. I kind of liked the crude way he was painted, but i lacked something to make the image interesting.


I added tv-screen with all the pink glory of the world outside of the sweaty livingroom, the things Chief Bayo wants, was creating a really strange composition and a weird feel to the image. I painted a bit more on Bayo's face, making him look almost hollow.

Just a little reference to explain what I mean when saying expressionism. The expressionists that had been in World War I came back with another vision of the world. An ugly and sinister one.


Portrait of Dr Heinrich Stadelmann, by Otto Dix, 1922

This work is licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Attribute - Katharsisdrill - Site: https://www.datataffel.dk/u/katharsisdrill

Sort:  

I really liked seeing them in various stages of development. Interestingly, the image 1 from "motorcycle chase and a secret meeting in the corrupt Chief Olu Bayo house" works very well even in the first stage.

And as for Otto Dix, hard to believe he did that almost a century ago, looks thoroughly modern. Someone else I need to check out.

Thanks, I enjoyed it!

Otto Dix is a very interesting character and a weird and fascinating painter. Ugly and beautiful works - even at the same time.

why do not you color the motorcycle rider with black, let it look more spooky ,, but your picture is very extraordinary

I always wants to show the difference between to types of space -in this case inside the car (dark) and outside the car (light) :)

your idea is very brilliant, I understand now, so it will be very apparent this picture is alive ,, :-))

I definitely liked your drawings, especially a woman in pink and a man with a very expressive green face. What material are these characters painted, acrylic?

It is all digital. I have only made a few posts with analogue painting and drawing :)

I would like to see them )

All three convey mood and scene very well, apart from being nice to look at individually.

I said "nice", can I haz an ephelant?

I normally check the comments of the culprit to see if he is a serial nice post-commenter. And you do not qualify. But now you ask so nicely I will give you one...

The_commentphant.jpg

It also seems that the Commentphant suddenly has some competition from a robot called @pleasestop!

Thank you!

I like the Commentphant. It is more humorous than Pleasestop, and awarded manually. It is amazing, great, and nice.

Omg. Your art is great 👍👍👍

Wow great art, good job, congratulations, greetings from Venezuela!!!

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

Very nice art work. Keep it up

Please Stop - @maicle

You just said "nice art","very nice" and in your your last 100 comments you used 36 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 0 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 79.20% and Bot: 2.20%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Beautiful art
keep it up

Please Stop - @hero420

You just said "beautiful art" and in your your last 100 comments you used 35 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 11 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 80.10% and Bot: 2.40%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

It is getting more interesting, I just manage to back online again. I think you get into more fascinating work with this staff...:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77