ART EXPLOSION WEEK 40: Theme EXPRESS YOURSELF - Me, Drawing me!

in #art6 years ago

Hello Everyone!

This week's contest is a challenge for me, I was thinking a thousand things that I would like to draw for this contest, the truth is that among so many things I was convinced of one ... my friends, my girlfriend and my family have been telling me for years make a self-portrait, but it turns out that I do not like to see myself, I do not know it is something that I have that I do not like to see myself in the mirror, I do not like to photo me, neither draw me.

However, what I decided to do was to give up and pay attention ... I made an illustration based on the theme of this contest. Which is Express yourself.

This is my entry to the contest ART EXPLOSION WEEK 40
hosted by @juliakponsford.

IMG_20180606_183941_890.jpg
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Blue.png

One of the things that identify me is to draw, where I go I make a drawing, where I always have something to draw, since I was a child I'm drawing and that's why I decided to express myself in this way making a drawing of myself, drawing me.

But I did not want to make a simple illustration of my ... I wanted to do some work.

First, I had to take a photo ... I hate the photos but I have to make faces for the illustration I had in mind.

Second, for what I had in mind I needed to illustrate with colors, I did not know paint with colors, I do it very badly, neither realism with them. But I could not do everything in grayscale, it would not look the same as what I had in mind, and although it looks like a hazing, I wanted to do the Illustration.

cores.png

The Tools:

  • Mechanical Pencils
  • HB, 3B, 6B Leads
  • Charcoal pencil.
  • Color Pencils. (Prismacolor)
  • Moldable Eraser.
  • Brush.
  • Difusser.
  • Brow Marker Sharpie.
  • Graphite Powder.
  • A3 Bristol 135G (48x32.5cm)

The Process:

  • To start, I made the sketch of myself, from a photo. No, I will not show you the photo, believe me, that's me and be identical!

  • Then I started by illustrating the dark parts with the charcoal. the hair, eyes, beard.


  • Here, i began to tone the face, one of the things that I liked about working with this paper is that it is very comfortable to work, it was easy to blur with the brush because the graphite adhered very easily, it was easy to get the tone of skin thanks to the paper.

  • I used a HB and 3B pencil to give volume to the face, also graphite powder to make the shadows with the brush.


  • My face is accurate ... Believe me I kept mocking myself!

  • Then shade the neck, and with the charcoal highlight the tattoo that I have in my hands.


  • Shade and give volume to the hand using a HB and 6B pencil.

  • To illustrate the sweater use the charcoal pencil and graphite powder to fill.

How ridiculous I look! I really do not stop making fun of myself, that's why I do not like self portraits.


  • After doing all the illustration that my hand will be drawing, I made my arm with colors, this part was fun because I try to make a composition but what I was afraid of because I do not know how to make realism with colors, the hand looks like a caricature.
    IMG_20180606_155546.jpg

  • It was already done, so to continue with the idea, add some colors, brush and pencil to the table and traced the lines that would be the sheet of paper where I would be drawing me.

  • With graphite powder, shade each element to give it a 3D effect.

IMG_20180606_173133.jpg


  • This part was a complete disaster! is that I do not stop mocking !. What I wanted to do is with a brown marker, lines that connect to give the effect of a table, or the texture of the table.

IMG_20180606_173511.jpg


At first it looked very good, then it gets complicated when I had to touch the elements, but it does not look too bad. This was very fun and very much like the idea I had in mind! This is the Final Art:

IMG_20180606_184016.jpg

By appreciating it from afar it looks pretty good! It hurts that my camera is not so good.

brown-watercolor-splatter-1.png

This work was very funny, it really did not stop laughing and I know you have done it too.

I want to thank @juliaksponford for the inspiration and their incredible contests!

Thank you all for visiting my Post! I hope you are having fun watching and reading my crazy things!

See you on the next time.

Steemit.png

Sort:  

Amazing, I follow you!

Wow.. nice job!!

Thank you friend!

Wow it took me a minute to realize it is your drawn hand drawing you, very cool and I love the expression on your face too :D

Hehehe! I'm glad you like Julia! Did not you make fun? lol!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Excellent. You deserve first place.

Hehehe! thankyou forthe support! :)

Hi kennyvaldez,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

wow, I took few mins then understand. The two hand in the drawing is same hand but with different tattoo? funny and interesting. very good idea!😄

I actually inverted the photo, my hand in the portrait is the left, and the one that is drawing is the right ... I had to do it so that the portrait would point to my hand since I am right-handed. hahaha! I think you noticed!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

I really think you should make a "speed drawing" video of this and put it on dtube.
these realistic drawings are really good in these kind of videos.

Hi, yes I've been thinking about doing a speed drawing video, I should look for a good video camera for this! Thank you!

I am now a follower, let me know when you get the video up, I would love to see it.
and i'll be looking at your other work too of course.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by The Stalker one from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06