Watercolor drawing of the sea. My detailed creative process

in #art6 years ago

Hello, Steemit!
Today I want to show you my small watercolor drawing of the sea.
At the beginning of the creative process, I was faced with the task of performing work in one common color of gray muffled tones. However, this does not mean that the drawing will be executed strictly in gray, but it is supposed to mix gray with additional colors.
For the drawing I used watercolors in the cuvettes "White Nights", a flat synthetic brush number 3, a round brush of columns number 5, a round synthetic brush number 1, a watercolor paper "Torshon", white gouache.





First I drew the contours of the picture with a pencil.





Then I mixed cobalt blue with green paint and added a little black in paint to muffle the brightness of the color.
With the resulting paint, I drew the contours of sea waves and the contours of thunderclouds in the sky.





The crest of the wave closest to the spectator in the foreground I drew with light ocher.





I mixed ultramarine with black paint and drew clouds and sea waves. I emphasized the wave form with transparent black lines.





I strengthened the shadows on the clouds in black. I painted the sails of the ship with ocher and the shadows with the same color that was used for sea waves to show the color reflex.





Еще больше усиливаю тени на тучах и волнах, на паруса корабля добавляю тени цвета морских волн и ультрамаринового оттенка, который можно увидеть на тучах.





Strengthened the shadows on the clouds and waves, on the sails of the ship I added shadows with the color of sea waves and ultramarine shade, which can be seen on the clouds.





With white gouache emphasized the sea foam in those places where the sea waves are most illuminated. When the gouache dries, I muffled its sharp white color with ocher and turquoise.





When the watercolor dries in the picture, all the colors will become a little dull, less pronounced. I emphasized the contrast of the picture by increasing the shadows. Areas of the sky, not covered with thunderclouds, I painted with blue paint. My drawing is ready.








Gif with the stages of the creative process.




Thank you for your attention! If you like my post – please, subscribe).

I apologize if you find mistakes in my text. Unfortunately, my English is not perfect.

Sort:  

I really love your art, the effect of water, that combination of colors in the sea to give that effect so realistic. Every detail is spectacular. I love being able to see the step by step of your painting. Excellent post, greetings.

You're such a talented artist, this painting is really amazing!

Hi kleonella,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Beautiful work! Thank you for sharing the painting and your process! Respect!

Thank you!)

So pretty- I wanna watercolor like that dang mdude

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70