Second page of Passchendaele horror anthology!

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Guten abend, Steemit! I’m at @caffetto, reflecting on a inspirational day. @tarotbyfergus and I faced off in a BRAWL battle and the wind shifted my way. A huge block of my favorite Magic: The Gathering cards just rotated out of Standard. My Jodah deck has undergone big changes, but assumably […after today] still has what it takes. @vermillionfox and @guthrie hung out and I had a wildly exciting conversation with @lovejoy regarding @robrigo and @eosdetroit. I see someone say “…living my best life”, and these things make me feel I’m close to my own.

Speaking of living my best life, I’m crazy excited to share new artwork with all of you, following up my last post, “First page of Passchendaele horror anthology!”. I just finished dialog on page two! This is a bigger achievement than it may look. With everything I’m trying to juggle, I’m pleasantly surprised with my ability to keep the petal down on this horror anthology I’m doing with @ghostfish. As much as I love and admire @la-fumettista’s art, it’s her ability consistently turn out outstanding pages for Ithaqa that really inspires me.

@bryan-imhoff and I both struggle with the schedule and self discipline of staying consistent with our respective projects. That, in itself, is far more challenging that drawing a hand or foot properly. My longtime friend @swarddraws is another example of an artist that inspires me in his sheer output. I have a million obstacles in my way of having enough time to do this daily, but that day will come. When it does, I’m hopeful that I can look back at getting a few pages done in a week and ask myself how I did it.

This is the second page of the currently untitled Passchendaele World War I story. A german solider, trapped knee deep in a mud laden artillery shell hole, has impulsively shot Ira, a Australian infantry grunt, just as he poked his head over the hole. Ira’s body slides down the embankment, and Otto realizes he over-reacted. Suddenly, though, Ira, seemingly alive […which is clearly not possible by the amount of skull and brain missing] begins talking to his killer, asking to bum a cigarette.

The point of this story is to explore the guilt and psychological impacts of the conditions these men are facing in their final hours. Clearly, Otto is projecting his unwinding mental state conversing with a dead Aussie. It’s a theme that will be consistent in this anthology. A series of short stories that’ll focus on the extremes of the human experience and the psychological hauntings that remain after unspeakable horrors.

Much more of this to come. I love having change to share more comic stuff. As the Steemian responsible for Trial by Comics, I feel these pages and projects show that I’m more capable than just coming up with new themes for the contest each week. It might be a long shot, but I’m going tot try and have the pencils for page three posted over the weekend. Thanks for reading. For more comics, photography, art and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Hi @kommienezuspadt, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @vermillonfox and @adamsward don't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @vermillionfox and @adamskarl ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

I am really excited about this story. As I said I love the WWI era in history and I think it has not been explored enough.

In many ways I see WWI as the true starting point of the post modern age. We'd been chugging along to drastic change in the landscape of how people lived and worked and even population size since the mid Victorian surge of the growth of industrialization.

When we reached WWI that new form of war and how humans kill one another became a unique and almost mechanized system of death. However the tools to create this death was the human animal, who for centuries prior, had lived in open fields and could not have been more removed from the idea of 'machine'.

This new trench warfare and the introduction of rapid fire guns, tanks, and the aeroplane thrusted the human condition into the post modern world we are only now exiting.

I am truly excited to see where this goes.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

i love you comic works so much, lars <3 the lines are so delicious i could eat 'em :D

gorgeous page <3

hope you will have a wonderful family weekend <3 <3 <3

(i spent the entire day outside under the sun with my dogs * ___ *)

damn beautiful linework

Hi @kommeinezuspadt.. your pencil drawings in your 2 last posts are great and amazing.. I enjoyed of watching them.. I will be happy to have your opinion about my paintings ( like in ono) thank you :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Today Is My Day @kommeinezuspadt ... Thank You :)

very cool, i like your style^^
also it is an interesting idea to display the impacts of horrific situations, looking forward to the next page

p.s.: there is a typo in the second panel, the word is spelled "jawohl", h and o are in the false order

Poor Ira. He's just poking his head and did nothing bad D:.
                     
Definitely you should try and upload page three this weekend, because I will be looking forward to it :D.
                     
I hope you have a great weekend with foxxie and guthrie ^_^.

I LOVE this idea @kommienezuspadt! Such a clever way to explore the guilt that these soldiers must have felt. I've seen this idea in novels, but never in a graphic novel like this; I used to teach high school and loved having work like this at my fingertips for kids who couldn't stay interested in traditional novels. There really is a specific literacy required for reading and understanding work such as yours. Great job; thanks for sharing it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76