Sketchbook Reflections

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I recently filled up one of my sketchbooks which is a feat that doesn't happen very often. For some reason, I never seem to fill every page of my sketchbooks but rather I just grow tired once I get towards the end and start to itch for a fresh new start, as if somehow by beginning a new sketchbook my drawings will magically improve tenfold. But today was different. As I opened up my go-to sketchpad, I realized that every last page was filled with illustrations, doodles, and work notes. It took me two years but, damn it, it happened.

Before I put this bad boy in the storage box with the rest of the "finished" sketchbooks, I wanted to take a little trip down memory lane.


I discovered that I had a lot of preliminary sketches for the work I did with Ithaqa in this sketchbook.

For example, I found some sketches working through what I wanted the characters to look like. Here is probably the very first batch of doodles I created to determine what the main cast was going to look like:

IMG_6570.jpg

Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 9.37.52 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 9.38.35 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 9.35.30 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 9.37.01 PM.png

It's so interesting to see how characters can evolve from the sketches to the actual comic. Here are some more concept designs for some of the supporting cast in Issue 2.

IMG_6566.jpg

Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 9.44.22 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 9.43.58 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 9.45.04 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 9.43.07 PM.png

I even found the sketches I made when designing the cult-y symbol that Hazel and Margaret stumble upon in the creepy rundown church.

IMG_6567.jpg

This was the description @drwaston gave me in the script to work with: "It looks as if someone drew an oval on its' side (like a mouth with rounded edges) and then with quick/sloppy strokes made 5 zig-zagging lines come out from it to approximate a vague 5-pointed star shape."

I think I looked up some occult symbols and some demonic symbology to kind of get more inspiration for the symbol. I also wanted to invoke a spider-like feel since Iss-Nagish has countless spider like threads that weave throughout multiple dimensions. Lastly, it had to be simple enough that someone could easily reproduce it anywhere with a couple of quick brushstrokes. So this was the design that ended up in the comic:

The_Magician_Page_5b.jpg

Lastly, for Ithaqa related sketches, we have some thumbnails!

IMG_6562.jpg IMG_6571.jpg

These thumbnails are from Issue 1, which if the steem-starter campaign get's fully funded will be released to everyone for free! If you would like to go support Ithaqa, click here.


Next, I have a batch of sketches of one of my OCs. She's kind of my go-to character to doodle when I'm watching TV shows.

IMG_6572.jpg
IMG_6557.jpgIMG_6565.jpg
It's funny, I'm just noticing now that in this last photo you can see the faint outlines of the saucy illustration I drew of Korra and Asami on the back of the page.

Here are some late night doodles I drew for my "Be More Active on Social Media" campaign but I didn't end up liking them enough to post them. So this is some exclusive content right here:

IMG_6563.jpg IMG_6564.jpg

IMG_6568.jpg

This is the second doodle I ever made with my FAVORITE NEW MARKERS. The reason I didn't post this one is that I was looking at another artist for inspiration but I ended up drawing something way too similar to her original artwork.

IMG_6569.jpg

This cute fellow is the main character from one of my comic ideas that I came up with a couple of years ago. I had to put a pin in this project though because I couldn't nail down the details, but I would definitely like to revisit this idea in the future. Perhaps one day I might share it with you lovely folks of Steemit.

Last but not least, I have one page that's more for me than it is for you. But during my senior year of college, towards the end of the last semester, we had a senior portfolio review day where all of the students set up their artwork on tables (similar to a convention setting) and professionals in the industry would come up to us and look at our work. It was nerve-racking and terrible but I luckily was sitting next to one of my best friends so we passed the downtime with some hangman.

IMG_6558.jpg

Yes, the girl with the curly hair popping out of the girl with the glasses head is me. It's a very accurate representation of our friendship.


So I hope that was somewhat interesting for you guys. I think it's nice to reflect on past artwork to see how you've grown and what ideas interested you at the time. It's always a fun trip to pull out sketchbooks way back from middle school... shudders. No matter how cringy old artwork may seem I was always taught never to throw that stuff away. It's all evidence of how you have evolved as an artist. And some pieces can bring back some really fond memories.

Thanks for coming on this trip down memory lane with me.

End_Card.png



If you'd like to keep up with more of my work you can check me out at the following:

Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sort:  

Yay - I'm so relieved that I'm not the only one who ends up with about 10 pages to go in a sketchbook where I'm just desperate for the fresh start of a new one, and get the strange idea that I'll be about 10 times better when I do it! Most of my sketchbooks are blank towards the end, or just have a few scrappy notes.

I love your comic style- I'm in awe of the way you seem to be able to lay down a loose idea of a character in pencil and then ink it in with such precision and bring it instantly to life. Have you ever done a "how-to" post for this kind of work? I'd love to learn!

One last question, I promise! In the colour piece that you say you were inspired by the style of Sibylline M, what is it that you used for the lovely blue outline? I've seen this colour used before by various illustrators, and have always admired it!

Fabulous post - looking forward to following more of your work. E x

Right? That's the best part about Steemit, you find so many people who can relate to you XD

Thank you so much, it means a lot to me. I've done a lot of posts in the past where I try to impart some of the knowledge I've learned at art college. You can just scroll back about three months through my olders posts and you'll find a bunch. Here is one for example; Roasting Myself | Comic Tips for Newbies or Inking Techniques.

That was actually done with a simple blue pen, pilot razor point. It's just something I had laying around because my normal inking markers, which are black, looked too harsh with the posca markers.

Thanks so much for reading and for your feedback!!

Wow, I'm blown away.

First of all I always loved comic books - I remember when I was a kid and I was spending most of my time reading all kind of coming books, I've been so fascinated by all the drawings and text boxes.

Now talking about your work, I really loved the part with Hazel and Margaret finding the creepy symbol in the church. It's just so perfect and expressive.

But talking about your "Be More Active on Social Media" campaign, I think you are joking, ain't you? Those are real masterpieces and you should definitely post them and use them somehow, really!

It's pure art and you are a talented artist. :)

Thank you so much!

Fumettista, this is really nice, it might be also because I am listen to some really emotional music, but your post also took me down memory lane of my old notebooks, doodles, hangman (!!!), notes passed, review days, unfinished projects, personal growth, etc. So that speaks something to your writing style :)

I your style, and I commend you for including these 'pre-production' images, publishing unfinished things takes a lot of courage.

Wow, thank you! Your feedback means a lot :) Glad you enjoyed the post.

What a gorgeous post, Theresa! I can see that your characters have developed alongside you in this post.

And your go-to-girl-to-draw when you watch tv is adorable, really lovely poses and expressions. She seems like a nice person to know, and I wish I'm as productive as you are when I watch tv lol.

Your doodle in college show me that you have grown leaps and bounds as an artist. Though you have always drawn in efficient line works, now your lineart shows so much more expression and characters with their ebbs and flows.

Your self chibi is adorable btw, even in your college days ^_^.

Thank you!! Yeah, I've been drawing her since high school. It's nice to draw her b/c I never feel any pressure so it's one of the few subjects I can just doodle away and not worry about messing up. It's also a good way to practice different poses.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

beautiful
very impressive
genius
;)

Wow, I'm blown away.

First of all I always loved comic books - I remember when I was a kid and I was spending most of my time reading all kind of coming books, I've been so fascinated by all the drawings and text boxes.

Now talking about your work, I really loved the part with Hazel and Margaret finding the creepy symbol in the church. It's just so perfect and expressive.

But talking about your "Be More Active on Social Media" campaign, I think you are joking, ain't you? Those are real masterpieces and you should definitely post them and use them somehow, really!

It's pure art and you are a talented artist. :)

What an amazing collection of sketches. I love seeing artists sketch books.

I love the one you did that you said is similar to the other artist. I think it might be similar in post but it looks to be in 'your style' which is a wonderful way to work on your style I think.

I think it's always a great exercise to try to mimic some of your favorite artists. No matter how similar the end results are, your personal style will always shine through and evolve in the process. I just didn't want anyone to think I was copying her though XD Better safe then sorry.

Intersting sketches. A lot of different looks. Amazed to see such talent on steemit. If i were to ever doodle, i don't think i can come up with more than 5 and here I see multiple characters with different expressions and looks. Do you also create your own comics? Hats off to such talent!

It's hard but reference photos make the world of a difference. Yes, I have a lot of original comics on my website, now I'm mostly freelancing so my recent stuff is collaborations with writers.

Well, i must say the work was great. Thanks for sharing it with others, can be a source of inspiration for many.

Hi la-fumettista,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04