Taking Things in Hand

in #art6 years ago


Life can be a handful sometimes. Things chug along nicely, but then, all of sudden it gets busy. If you've been following me here on Steemit, you might start to get the impression that I'm bit of a creature of habit. If only there were double the hours in the day to paint and then with plenty left over to play later.

My visitors have gone home days ago, allowing me to once again settle down in front of the easel.

I'm taking a new approach to mixing my colours on my palette which helped me greatly with this painting. Technique is only one part of the equation. How you organise your studio right down to where you layout your colours on your palette and how you go about mixing them, can have a huge effect upon the end result and your overall productivity.

After I'm done here with this post, I have to decide which artwork takes priority next.

I hope you're all keeping well.

Steem on!


"Hands 04", Leo Plaw, 30 x 24cm, oil on canvas

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Wow..this peace touched my with great intensity...i don't know why its so powerful...perhaps the texture..? the way its presented...? This is just...amazing...<3

Nice work, Leo, I had to look for a minute. I thought it was a photo!

Cheers @nuthman. Here's proof it is a painting.

IMG_2315-xsw.jpg

Leo this is amazing ! I think hands are the most challenging thing to paint & you got the color, skin & texture beautifully.

Thank you Bonny! I keep practising.

I'm always trying to find more efficient ways to use my palette and lay out my colours. I think one of my loves of digital oils now is the layers and no dry time, so it gives me more time in that, but then I still spend probably too much time on those, but thank goodness for daily drawing and scribbles. It gives me the 'illusion' of getting things done :)

This is always a busy time for me so looking forward to finding more ways to streamline my work times.

I'm still surprised how much drawing has helped with my painting. I now see it as an essential part of my painting process.

Congratulations @leoplaw! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73