Not Now Death, I'm Painting

in #art5 years ago (edited)


Just in time for Halloween, this self portrait was inspired by Arnold Böcklin's own self-portrait. This is my first self-portrait in oils. I was working from a photo reference of myself edited into Böcklin's own painting.

This time lapse video shows you the beginnings from sketching the image in pencil to the initial oil sketch, blocking in and then down to the finer details. A few adjustments had to be made along the way.

I'm still to find an optimal solution for positioning the camera for the time lapse. I bumped the camera a number of times, hence the point of view changes.

All in all it's been a fun project.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS


Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Ganz Du ! Kompliment :-D

I think I saw your great video on FB showing you painting this? or was it insta? who can say, It's been such a rush rush of things during my current state of travel/house hunt, that I grab moments with the phone or tablet to see what my 'online pals' are about.

This is genius!

I posted the video far and wide, so you may have indeed seen it in those other places.
All the best for your house hunt Donna.

Thank you, we are still at it, but are hopeful...

...and how's it going Donna?

I love it, Leo ! You look really lovely with a thoughtful look in your eyes and a skelly on your back <3 Death seems to know how to play that violin.... even though it only has one string :D

Lovely lighting, very beautiful <3

Hi @veryspider! The story of the violin strings: The others have snapped. So time is running out for the music of life. When that last is gone...

Here is the original painting by Böcklin.

Arnold Böcklin

Ah ha! I thought so, but I didn't really want to presume that was the symbolic message about the single string :)

But that's what the comment section is for, discussing our observations. =)

Awesome painting and an interesting video about it!!

Great for Halloween :)

Indeed! It was a race to finish on time.

its really great Leo :-)

Thank you Adele!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Wow! This is so beautiful painting. I really like it. I can't wait your next post.

Cheers! There's a few more posts now for you to look at. =)

Fab experience.

That's cool and magical :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98