What Comes Next?

in #art6 years ago


So, you've just finished something you enjoy. What comes next? Do more of it of course. Or try to do the next step.

I had intended to move onto another drawing, but I thought this last one would work well as a painting. I'm always looking for an excuse to paint, so paint it was.

The painting is still in its initial stages with the rough value statements being made. The next step is to start with colour and refining the transitions and eventually coming to the details.

As you can see I like to work rather rough and loose in the initial stages. I'm too impatient to render a polished grisaille. Speaking of being impatient, I'll finish off here and return to the paint.


Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Already curious how finished painting will look like! :)

Something like a canvas with paint smeared on it I think. =)

haha this is frigging cool! It reminds me of that popular thinking man sculpture lol. Nice work.

@leoplaw nice!!!! I'm interested how the final project artwork will look like for this one!!! Upvote to support

Thank you @miss.kat and an upvote back at you. =)

lol greatly appreciated! Looking forward to your next post. Lemme know, will come visit

Just checked out another great piece! Upvoted your new artwork :) Come check out my new art post too Part 1. :)

https://steemit.com/minnowuprising/@miss.kat/r5czue98

Thank you for the upvote @miss.kat!

Paint we must and Paint we shall. And I'm glad you are sharing more of the paint. I work pretty rough in the beginning as well, but to feed my desire to never focus on one thing, I've usually got 3 -5 things unfinished and being worked on. Part of the joy and the perogative of the Artist!

I can't wait to see this one progress as well.

I may have a few things started in parallel, such as I do at the moment. But I will then focus on one thing to completion. The others are prepared so that I can keep the art factory production line humming along smoothly without any downtime and wondering what to do next. It also inspires me to keep my mind's eye open for more subjects to create.

Originally I had started off with the drawings being stand alone works. Now, many of them I am treating as preliminary sketches for paintings. This also helps to keep the production line moving, as well as improving my skills.

I always liked drawing ever since I was a kid. But it wasn't until recently that I came to understand just how important it is in approaching realist painting. So many of the figurative artists I follow repeat that drawing is the foundation of painting. Now I finally see how it is.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78