Finally I drew something...featuring my friend's mildly interesting photograph!

in #art5 years ago

It's been like a million years since I last drew something...here we go.

About a few days before, my friend sent me this picture featuring a window with an interesting crack on it. He didn't mention where he took the photo, but I can tell that it is taken while he was traveling on the train based on the fabric of the chair on the left side of the image and the reflections on the glass. I have traveled on it for a little too many times for me to recognize it on first sight...lol. Anyways, it still doesn't change the fact that it is mildly intriguing to see the beautifully formed crack on the window. It isn't dangerous due to the toughness and design of the glass, but it just lets me ask the question: why does this exists?


He asked me if I can draw something out of it, and I said that I'll try...the spiral-like pattern does look like something that I usually draw, just slightly deformed with some additional lines. The point of impact also looks interesting enough, probably I can get creative with it...


I decided to start the thing from the point of impact since it is significantly easier to get it fixed down first before the lines. It looks like a flower to me, so I turned it into a flower as well 😛


From the "imagined flower" I see from his photo, I think that it has two layers of petals, with the ones at the lower level being bigger than the ones showing on top. I did some weird choices when drawing this part and used a brush that smudges colours that are already on the canvas into the stroke itself...so the "petals" (they don't really look like petals here) in darker colours are drawn from the center of the flower where the dark red (or do we call it maroon?) lies, while the others are not. I also messed it up in a way that the colours are too significant and there is no contrast between them and the first layer, so I dropped the opacity of the layer by a big portion to somehow fix it too. Ugly patches you can only do in digital panting.


Who doesn't love flying petals?


Then time for the line...I don't really like drawing lines like these on the tablet, because unlike drawing on paper, I cannot directly see my pen's position on the paper as well as continue the line in a direction I can be 100% sure that it's correct. Luckily Krita has something to help peeps like me.


Krita has an assistant tool in which you can use to construct shapes and lines and draw according to path the assistant shows to you. Most of the times it's just a visual guide, but if you want to there's an option to let your brush stick to the path as well, which can be useful if you want to do some tricks such as drawing a perfect path with varying pen pressure. Personally I haven't done that yet, but probably it's worth giving a shot in the future.


The lines meet each other at various points so I guess it would be pretty to add some splashes on the interaction points as well.


To be honest, I am not entirely sure what to do with the rest of the space yet. I was just going along with my instinct and ended up with a few more lines I'm used to draw...probably I'll just follow it to the end? Not sure about that yet, probably I'll dream of something sweet to add in later on, we'll see 🍫



Frankly speaking it looks very weird as a whole. I do hope that it will get better the next time I find myself working on it 😛 Currently I'm thinking of turning it into a whale or a helicopter or a floating island...not going to stick to any ideas now. The only idea I agree to stick to now is to make it something cute and colourful, but how it will be executed, no idea yet. They say that the brain never stops working even when you sleep, so I'll just let the dreams do the job and hope that I get something cute from it 🌒

That's all for now, stay tuned for more updates (I hope there will be, I nuked too many WIP stuff in the past, cries) and see you around!

--Lilacse


Posted from my blog with SteemPress.

Want to support my work with more than a vote? Click here!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

That's pretty good

Thanks :)

Posted using Partiko Android

@lilacse, first things first..

Your drawing is really magniF(LOWER)icent!

Hats off!

Just take a bow!

BTW, the moment I looked at the picture, I thought if there is any ghost standing next to the window that was accidentally locked in his photograph.......!

Just gave my opinion...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! And that is just some reflection...haha. If there's really some ghost, they might have trouble choosing who to haunt because there are so many people online at any given time 😂 glad to know that you liked it!

@lilacse.... Hahaha..... 😂😂😂.... LOL

Posted using Partiko Android

You are certainly talented my friend and this looks great thus far.
Blessings and well done!

Such an interesting spiraling set of lines to inspire you to draw @lilacse. I love the way adding splashes of colour and accentuating the circular movement has brought about a new creation. Yes, it's great to let our brains bring something to the surface when we let our active mind rest/sleep. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thanks 😉 and yes, it's really important to get enough rest...(which is obviously what I'm lacking now) probably that's why I'm still searching for ideas until now. Lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love how it flows. Nicely done friend.

Thanks dude :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83