Calligraphy

in #art6 years ago

Calligraphy

Hi friends, I'm going to talk to you today about calligraphy. Yesterday I heard on the radio a calligrapher explaining his job, I did not know that there was the job of calligrapher elsewhere. He explains that he does not have time to be bored, in fact, he is often called upon, both for advertising texts, marriage proposals or official invitations as a gala dinner where he must prepare each individual invitation one by one. He explained that for the moment he had an order of 4,000 personalized invitations to calligraphy. He can not make one and photocopy it, no, he must calligraphy one at a time!

55617359-lettering-quotes-set-motivation-for-life-and-happiness-calligraphy-inspirational-quote-morning-motiv-Stock-Vector.jpg

(Picture source)

(Video source)

Definition

Calligraphy is the art of well forming handwriting characters.
Calligraphy is about taking care to write, to work a word, a sentence or even a whole text in an artistic way.

Classic calligraphy

In classical calligraphy, one can see all the work around historical calligraphic writings imposing to follow rules of formation of letters or orientation of the instrument.
We find, for example, Roman writings such as the Rustica or the Onciale, the various Gothic writings or even more recent writings such as the Chancellor or the Englishwoman.

b83f7ed9342a7acc8ccbefb4dd3809bd.jpg

(Picture source)

Modern calligraphy

Modern calligraphy has freed itself from some of the rules of classical calligraphy
It's a freer and more whimsical writing
The goal is to create a new style with a personal and dynamic writing.

moderne.png

(Picture source)

Tools

Old tools

This is for example bird feathers or calamas (reed cut to tip).

imagesVJ06ND06.jpg

(Picture source)

The brush felt

It is a tool, similar to the felt used in primary school, it allows to get full and untied. This technique is worked with colored felt that can be used alone or mixed.

pigma-brush.jpg

(Picture source)

The pen holder

This is the most classic tool for calligraphy, it can be straight or oblique depending on the type of inclination desired. There are many new or old feathers that each have their characteristics and give very different writing results.

Le-porte-plume-et-les-six-plumes-dyn-image1-1024x768-ratio.jpg

(Picture source)

The brush

The brush is used to draw words. Watercolor is often used to obtain fluid colors that blend well together, but gouache can also be used.

Capture-d’écran-2014-05-18-à-22.53.59-300x207.png

(Picture source)

The chalk

It can be in the form of chalk cut in tip or felt chalk On calligraphy then on a blackboard, this tool is often used during wedding, baby shower, birthday, ... me personally, I use this technique to write my shopping list on a painting hung in my kitchen; o))

images7GKRUZEN.jpg

(Picture source)

(Text source)

I hope you enjoy this post! Have an happy day <3

Sort:  

I know calligraphy had played a big part in making Steve Jobs Design Sense.
He took up calligraphy as his subject in his liberal education course.
Even while making the 1st Macintosh,he made the most of his calligraphic sense to choose the best fonts for all the application.

Now a days many calligraphy tool or I would say Pens are available in the market so anyone can buy them and with little practice they can easily create some magic. But earlier with brush and chalk, it was quite tough and involved a lot of dedication and practice.. I like calligraphy writing a lot. Thanks for sharing this post. Made my day!! voted!!!

calligraphy can rightfully be called a whole art, which is transformed over time. as we well see, that over time the style and the tools with which it is depicted are changing.
Your article is interesting to reading, you know how to talk about things with interest, I like :)
have a nice day

beautiful post

Beautiful post, thanks :)

Wooow.. I am really impressed ! I especially liked the pen very much.A friend of mine gave this gift a similar pen on my birthday :)) @lndesta120282

It seems as though almost nobody knows calligraphy these days! I learned when I was young, but very few people know how to write. I think it is a beautiful form of art, and I'm glad it is being talked about! :) wonderful post!

WELCOME to #STEEMIT..,I am also a beginner in steemit,I hope we can work together,I am sure you are a great writer,so you show all your works in this #STEEMIT ,if you like short story,follow me @aitbilal, Now i am in the process of writing a short story that i will post on the #STEEMIT platform..Thanks for your

Nice post .
I just love to do it.
When I was a kid I always used to make chart paper with calligraphy.
Regards @crafter

Ya really impressive this type of writting .love to look this .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34